0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

Second opinion

Has a doctor recommended an operation, but you are not sure whether this particular procedure is really the best option or whether there might be meaningful alternatives? If you’re planning to have an operation, we can offer you the chance to get a second medical opinion for free. This means that another impartial doctor not involved in the case will assess your medical situation. This neutral assessment may help you to decide for or against the operation and find out whether or not it is worth discussing alternative treatment methods with your doctor.

Our offer for you: Second opinion

Advantages of a second opinion

  • You can be sure that you are making the right decision
  • You can identify alternative treatment options
  • Neutrality (the doctor offering the second opinion does not administer treatment)
  • Your situation will be assessed by a proven specialist
  • It’s free if you have supplementary medical costs insurance with CSS or Intras

Are you interested?

We offer the second opinion service online. This takes 10 days and can be used for operations in the field of orthopaedics or vascular and abdominal disease, as well as neurosurgery and cardiac surgery. Please note that a second opinion is only suitable for planned operations and not for emergency surgery.

Alternative to online second opinion

We offer alternatives to the online second opinion: you can arrange to get a second opinion yourself or ask us to coordinate it for you. If you already know that an operation is necessary, we recommend our preparing for surgery service.

Letting us coordinate a second opinion for you

When you ask us to coordinate a second opinion, we’ll arrange a doctor’s appointment for you. A second opinion can be sought in all fields of medical practice (except oncology) and takes around 6-8 weeks.

Arranging a second opinion yourself

After consulting with us on 0844 277 277, you can go ahead and organise a second opinion yourself: Arrange an appointment with a doctor of your choice and then notify us accordingly. A second opinion can be sought for operations in all fields of medical practice (except oncology).

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
CSS Versicherung

Ärztliche Zweitmeinung

Wurde Ihnen vom Arzt eine Operation vorgeschlagen und Sie sind unsicher, ob dieser Eingriff wirklich der beste Weg ist oder ob es sinnvolle Alternativen dazu gibt? Bei einer geplanten Operation bieten wir Ihnen die Möglichkeit einer ärztlichen Zweitmeinung. Das ist eine medizinische Beurteilung durch einen nicht beteiligten, neutralen Arzt. Diese neutrale Betrachtung hilft Ihnen, sich für oder gegen die Operation zu entscheiden und in Erfahrung zu bringen, ob Sie sich mit Ihrem Arzt auch über alternative Behandlungsmethoden unterhalten sollten.

Unser Angebot für Sie: Ärztliche Zweitmeinung

Vorteile einer ärztlichen Zweitmeinung

  • Entscheidungssicherheit gewinnen
  • Alternative Behandlungsmöglichkeiten erkennen
  • Neutralität (keine Behandlung durch Zweitmeinungsarzt)
  • Beurteilung durch ausgewiesene Fachexperten
  • Kostenloses Angebot, sofern Sie bei der CSS oder Intras über eine Heilungskosten-Zusatzversicherung verfügen

Sind Sie interessiert?

Wir bieten Ihnen zum einen die Online-Zweitmeinung an. Diese dauert ca. 10 Tage und kann bei Operationen im Bereich Orthopädie, Gefäss- und Baucherkrankungen, Neuro- und Herzchirurgie durchgeführt werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich eine Zweitmeinung nur für geplante, aber nicht für notfallmässige Eingriffe eignet.

Alternativen zur Online-Zweitmeinung

Zur Online-Zweitmeinung bieten wir Ihnen die Alternativen, die Zweitmeinung selber zu organisieren oder von uns koordinieren zu lassen. Wissen Sie bereits, dass eine Operation notwendig ist, empfehlen wir Ihnen unsere Vorbereitung auf eine Operation.

Koordination der Zweitmeinung durch uns
Bei der Koordination der Zweitmeinung durch uns, vereinbaren wir einen Arzttermin für Sie. Die Zweitmeinung kann für Operationen in allen Fachbereichen (ausser Onkologie) durchgeführt werden und dauert ca. 6-8 Wochen.

Organisation der Zweitmeinung durch Sie
Nach vorgängiger Rücksprache mit uns unter 0844 277 277, können Sie die Organisation der Zweitmeinung auch selber vornehmen: Vereinbaren Sie einen Termin mit einem Arzt Ihrer Wahl und teilen Sie uns diesen anschliessend mit. Die Zweitmeinung kann für Operationen in allen Fachbereichen (ausser Onkologie) angefragt werden.