0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Making it easy to switch health insurer

Would you like to change to CSS Insurance (CSS, Arcosana, Intras)? - We will show you what you need to consider, and give you some useful tips about how quick and easy it is to change your health insurer.

How to change health insurer

To be able to change health insurer, you need to terminate your current health insurance by the set deadline. We nonetheless recommend that you get a quote from CSS before you give notice on your existing insurance. A notice period of one month applies to terminate your basic insurance properly with effect from 1 January. This means that you should give notice on your basic insurance by 30 November. You can then switch general health insurance company the following January, and will be insured with the CSS Group in the new year.

Change basic insurance by 30 November

  1. Calculate your personal premium and request a non-binding offer using our premium calculator.
  2. Conclude a contract directly online or print out the application and return it to CSS Insurance, fully completed and duly signed.
  3. Notice of termination by registered letter must reach your current general health insurance company by 30 November or the last working day of November.
  4. You will receive confirmation of admission within a few days.

Change supplementary insurance by 30 September

  1. Calculate your personal premium and request a non-binding offer using our premium calculator.
  2. Conclude a contract directly online or print out the application and return it to CSS Insurance, fully completed and duly signed. If you can be admitted to the insurance without reservation, we will send notice of termination to your current insurer on your behalf.
  3. Supplementary insurance is subject to a risk assessment. Depending on the information given, further medical information may be required. CSS will make every effort to communicate its decision regarding admission quickly.
  4. Check your current insurance policy to find out the notice periods of your general health insurance company. We recommend not cancelling your current insurance until you have received confirmation of admission from CSS.

Frequently asked questions

Why don't I pay the same premiums everywhere?

The Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) defines specific premium regions. General health insurance companies are obliged to accept this arrangement with respect to basic insurance.

Health insurance premiums reflect the general costs of health care. If there are a large number of medical services available, greater use will be made of them. So in urban areas with many medical practices and specialised clinics, health expenditure is higher than in rural areas where fewer doctors practise. The differences are substantial.

By changing to an alternative insurance model, you can nevertheless save on premiums for basic insurance.

Does my new insurance cover take effect immediately?

Yes and no. There is a distinction here between basic insurance and supplementary insurance.

  • In the case of basic insurance, your cover commences from the date on which the insurance begins – usually 1 January.
  • In the case of supplementary insurance, there is often a "qualifying period". E.g. benefits for damage to teeth or pregnancy can only be drawn after a certain waiting period.

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr  
 

Krankenkasse wechseln leicht gemacht

Sie möchten zur CSS Versicherung (CSS, Arcosana, Intras) wechseln? – Wir zeigen Ihnen auf was Sie achten sollten und geben Ihnen hilfreiche Tipps wie Sie schnell und einfach Ihre Krankenkasse wechseln können.

Vorgehen beim Krankenkassenwechsel

Damit Sie Ihre Krankenkasse wechseln können, müssen Sie Ihre bisherige Krankenversicherung fristgerecht kündigen. Wir empfehlen jedoch, dass sie zuerst eine Offerte bei der CSS einholen, bevor sie die alte Krankenkasse kündigen. Für eine ordnungsgemässe Kündigung der Grundversicherung zum 1. Januar beträgt die Kündigungsfrist einen Monat. Dies bedeutet, dass sie Ihre Grundversicherung bis zum 30. November kündigen sollten, damit sie im Januar des Folgejahres Ihre Krankenkasse wechseln können und für das neue Jahr bei der CSS Gruppe versichert sind.

Grundversicherung wechseln bis 30. November

  1. Berechnen Sie Ihre persönliche Prämie und bestellen Sie eine unverbindliche Offerte mit unserem Prämienrechner.
  2. Nutzen Sie den direkten Online Abschluss oder drucken den Antrag aus und schicken diesen vervollständigt und unterschrieben an die CSS Versicherung.
  3. Die eingeschriebene Kündigung muss bis zum 30. November bzw. bis zum letzten Arbeitstag im November bei Ihrer aktuellen Krankenkasse eingetroffen sein.
  4. Innerhalb weniger Tage erhalten Sie die Aufnahmebestätigung.

Zusatzversicherung wechseln bis 30. September

  1. Berechnen Sie Ihre persönliche Prämie und bestellen Sie eine unverbindliche Offerte mit unserem Prämienrechner.
  2. Nutzen Sie den direkten Online Abschluss oder drucken den Antrag aus und schicken diesen vervollständigt und unterschrieben an die CSS Versicherung. Wir übernehmen die Kündigung beim Vorversicherer für Sie bei einer vorbehaltslosen Aufnahme.
  3. Die Zusatzversicherung unterliegt einer Risikoprüfung. Je nach Angaben müssen noch weitere ärztlichen Auskünfte eingeholt werden. Die CSS setzt alles daran einen raschen Aufnahmeentscheid zu kommunizieren.
  4. Überprüfen Sie auf Ihrer aktuellen Versicherungspolice die Kündigungsfristen Ihrer Krankenkasse. Eine Kündigung der bisherigen Versicherung empfiehlt sich erst nach Aufnahmebestätigung durch die CSS.

Häufige Fragen

Warum zahlt man nicht überall gleich viel Prämie?

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) teilt die Prämienregionen ein. Die Krankenkassen sind in der Grundversicherung verpflichtet, diese zu übernehmen.

Die Krankenkassenprämien sind das Spiegelbild der Gesundheitskosten. Ist das medizinische Angebot gross, wird es auch stärker genutzt. Somit sind in städtischen Gebieten mit vielen Arztpraxen und Spezialkliniken die Gesundheitsausgaben höher als in ländlichen Regionen, wo weniger Ärzte niedergelassen sind. Die Unterschiede sind beträchtlich.

Mit einem Wechsel in ein alternatives Versicherungsmodell können Sie trotzdem in der Grundversicherung Prämien sparen.

Greift mein neuer Versicherungsschutz per sofort?

Ja und nein. Hier wird zwischen Grund- und Zusatzversicherung unterschieden werden.

  • Bei der Grundversicherung sind Sie per Versicherungsbeginn – meist der 1. Januar – versichert.
  • Bei den Zusatzversicherungen gibt es oft sogenannte Karenzfristen. Z.B. bei Zahnschäden oder Schwangerschaft können erst nach einer gewissen Wartezeit Leistungen bezogen werden.