0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Your deductible – your choice

If you, as an insured person, claim benefits such as a doctor's appointment, or if you need medication, you pay a share of the costs. However, you can decide how much of healthcare costs you wish to pay each calendar year. The amount that you pay is divided into the deductible and the retention fee. The level of deductible is laid down in law. The statutory minimum deductible (standard deductible) for adults is CHF 300 per year. The standard deductible does not apply to children under the age of 18. The amount refers to one year in each case. If your healthcare costs exceed your deductible, you still pay the retention fee of 10%.

Your choice of deductible

Instead of the standard deductible, you are free to choose a higher selectable deductible. Children may also choose a deductible and thus receive a premium reduction. It is worth mentioning here that the higher your deductible, the lower your premium.

Adults (all amounts in CHF)

Annual deductible Reduction per month (maximum) Reduction per year (maximum)
500 11.60 140.00
1000 40.80 490.00
1500 70.00 840.00
2000 99.10 1190.00
2500 128.30 1540.00

Children (all amounts in CHF)

Annual deductible Reduction per month (maximum) Reduction per year (maximum)
100 5.80 70.00
200 11.60 140.00
300 17.50 210.00
400 23.30 280.00
600 35.00 420.00

Retention fee & co-payment

As an insured person, you pay a fixed sum per calendar year (deductible) and a retention fee (10%, up to a maximum of CHF 700 per calendar year for adults over the age of 18, and CHF 350 for children) for outpatient and inpatient treatment.

You will also pay a retention fee on the costs that exceed the deductible.

Example of co-payment

Outpatient treatment; adult with ordinary deductible CHF 300

Medical bill CHF 450  
./. deductible   CHF 300
Remainder CHF 150  
of which 10% is retention fee   CHF 15
Total co-payment billed
to the insured person
CHF 315

The next time the customer falls ill (in the same year), he or she pays only the retention fee.

Exceptions

There are a number of exceptions that apply to children and young people in education, for example, as well as to maternity benefits. Please refer to the customer information sheet on Calculation of co-payment.

Frequently asked questions

What deductible should you choose?

You should take the following points into consideration when deciding which deductible is best for you.  If you decide in favour of a low co-payment, your health insurance premium will be somewhat higher. To help you reach a decision, we recommend taking a look at your healthcare costs over the past few years. This will allow you to determine whether you would prefer to choose a low deductible or pay a greater share of your healthcare costs out of your own pocket.

How can the deductible be changed?

You can change your deductible with effect from 1 January each year. Please note the period of notice.

What does a higher deductible mean?

You need to have money set aside to cover your deductible should the worst case scenario arise. This is the amount up to which you, as policyholder, must pay the costs out of your own pocket. If the total costs are higher than the deductible, the general health insurance company will pick up the tab for the remaining amount after deducting the retention fee.

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
CSS Versicherung

Franchise – Sie haben die Wahl

Nehmen Sie als Versicherter Leistungen wie einen Arztbesuch in Anspruch oder benötigen Sie Medikamente werden Sie anteilig an den Kosten beteiligt. Sie können jedoch selbst festlegen, wie viel Sie von Ihren Gesundheitskosten je Kalenderjahr zahlen möchten. Der Betrag, den Sie leisten, teilt sich in Franchise und Selbstbehalt. Die Höhe für die Franchise ist gesetzlich geregelt. Die gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Mindestfranchise (ordentliche Franchise) beträgt dabei für Erwachsene CHF 300 pro Jahr. Für Kinder (bis zum vollendeten 18. Altersjahr) wird keine ordentliche Franchise erhoben. Der Betrag bezieht sich jeweils auf ein Jahr. Übersteigen Ihre Gesundheitskosten Ihre Franchise, zahlen Sie noch den Selbstbehalt von 10%.

Franchisen zu Ihrer Auswahl

Anstelle der ordentlichen Franchise können Sie freiwillig eine höhere Wahlfranchise wählen. Auch Kinder können eine Franchise wählen und erhalten dafür eine Prämienreduktion. Hierbei ist zu erwähnen: Je höher die Franchise, desto geringer ist Ihre Prämie.

Erwachsene (alle Beträge in CHF)

Franchise pro Jahr
Reduktion
pro Monat (maximal)
Reduktion
pro Jahr (maximal)
500 11.60 140.00
1000 40.80 490.00
1500 70.00 840.00
2000 99.10 1190.00
2500 128.30 1540.00

Kinder (alle Beträge in CHF)

Franchise pro Jahr
Reduktion
pro Monat (maximal)
Reduktion
pro Jahr (maximal)
100 5.80 70.00
200 11.60 140.00
300 17.50 210.00
400 23.30 280.00
600 35.00 420.00

Selbstbehalt & Kostenbeteiligung

Sie als Versicherte zahlen pro Kalenderjahr für ambulante und stationäre Behandlungen einen festen Betrag (Franchise) und einen Selbstbehalt (10%, maximal CHF 700 pro Kalenderjahr für Erwachsene ab 18 Jahren und CHF 350 für Kinder).

An den Kosten, welche die Franchise übersteigen, beteiligen Sie sich zusätzlich mit dem Selbstbehalt.

Beispiel einer Kostenbeteiligung:

Ambulante Behandlung, erwachsene Person mit ordentlicher Franchise CHF 300

Arztrechnung CHF 450  
./. Franchise   CHF 300
Restbetrag CHF 150  
davon 10% Selbstbehalt CHF 15
Total Kostenbeteiligung
zu Lasten des Versicherten
CHF 315

Beim nächsten Krankheitsfall (im gleichen Jahr) bezahlt der Kunde nur noch den Selbstbehalt.

Ausnahmen

Es gibt diverse Ausnahmen die z.B. bei Kindern und jungen Erwachsenen in Ausbildung gelten oder auch bei Mutterschaftsleistungen. Für solche Fälle lesen Sie bitte die Kundeninformation Berechnung der Kostenbeteiligung.

Häufige Fragen

Welche Franchise lohnt sich?

Für die Ermittlung Ihrer persönlichen Franchise sollten Sie Folgendes beachten. Entscheiden Sie sich für eine geringe Beteiligung, wird Ihre Krankenkassenprämie etwas höher ausfallen. Zur Orientierung empfehlen wir, dass Sie sich Ihre Gesundheitskosten der letzten Jahre anschauen. So können Sie selbst festlegen, ob Sie eher eine geringe Franchise wählen oder bereit sind, einen höheren Anteil Ihrer Gesundheitskosten selbst zu tragen und sich somit für eine höhere Franchise entscheiden.

Wann kann die Franchise gewechselt werden?

Sie können die Franchise jeweils auf den 1. Januar wechseln. Bitte beachten Sie die Kündigungsfrist.

Was bedeutet eine höhere Franchise?

Für den Ernstfall müssen Sie über den Betrag Ihrer Franchise verfügen können. Bis zu diesem Betrag müssen Sie als Versicherungsnehmer die Kosten bezahlen. Ist der Betrag höher als die Franchise, so übernimmt die Krankenkasse den Mehrbetrag nach Abzug des Selbstbehalts von 10%.