0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

Generics

Generics are medicines which are identical to the original preparations with respect to the active ingredient, dosage and form of administration (e.g. tablet or syrup) and which may thus substitute for the original on expiry of the 15-year patent protection. Generics usually cost much less than original drugs.

Deciding between the generic medicine and the original preparation

If the original preparation is not strictly required for medical purposes, your pharmacist will be able to offer you a generic form of the medication instead, which is usually less expensive.

Retention fee

Since 1 July 2011 new rules decided by the Federal Council have been in place, which stipulate an increased retention fee of 20% for certain medicine based on the list (in German) maintained by the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG). This may be either a generic medicine or an original preparation.

A 20% retention fee applies to medication (both original preparations and generics) it its price exceeds the average price of the cheapest one-third of all medicines with the same active ingredient by at least 20%.

The higher retention fee will not be charged if an original preparation is crucial for medical reasons. In such situations, CSS requires a medical certificate from the attending doctor.

Because prices changes regularly we recommend that you find out about the current retention fee each time you collect your prescription medication from your doctor or pharmacist.

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr  
 

Generika (Einzahl: Generikum)

Generika sind Arzneimittel (Medikamente), die bezüglich Wirkstoff, Dosierung und Darreichungsform (z. B. Tabletten, Sirup) mit einem Originalpräparat identisch sind und dieses nach Ablauf des 15-jährigen Patentschutzes ersetzen können. In der Regel sind Generika deutlich günstiger als Originalmedikamente.

Entscheid ob Generikum oder Originalpräparat

Apotheker können Originalpräparate durch die meist preiswerteren Generika ersetzen, wenn nicht ausdrücklich die Abgabe des Originalpräparates medizinisch notwendig ist.

Selbstbehalt der Kosten

Seit dem 1. Juli 2011 gilt eine neue, vom Bundesrat beschlossene Regelung des erhöhten Selbstbehalts von 20% bei bestimmten Arzneimitteln. Als Basis gilt die vom Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) geführte sogenannte Generikaliste. Es kann sich dabei um ein Generikum oder ein Originalpräparat handeln.

Der Selbstbehalt für Arzneimittel (Originalpräparate und Generika) beträgt 20% wenn deren Preis um mindestens 20% höher ist als der Durchschnitt des günstigsten Drittels der Arzneimittel mit gleichem Wirkstoff.

Kein erhöhter Selbstbehalt wird verrechnet, wenn ein Originalpräparat aus medizinischen Gründen zwingend erforderlich ist. In solchen Situationen benötigt die CSS eine ärztliche Bescheinigung des behandelnden Arztes.

Aufgrund der regelmässigen Preisänderungen empfehlen wir Ihnen, sich bei jedem Bezug eines verordneten Arzneimittels beim Arzt oder Apotheker nach dem aktuell gültigen Selbstbehalt zu erkundigen.

Vorteile und Grenzen von Generika

Gabriella Chiesa Tanner, Ressortleiterin Innovation Versorgungsmanagement, im Interview des Ratgeber-Service auf Tele 1.