0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

Health policy – position papers and dialogue

CSS publishes its views on the current challenges facing healthcare in short position statements and in its 'im dialog' publication.

Political position of CSS Insurance

CSS Insurance makes its viewpoint on the latest issues and problems in healthcare known by publishing short position statements on various aspects of public health policy. The main focal points are explained in a clear and comprehensible manner along with CSS Insurance's stance on the matter.

Supervision by FINMA The Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) is responsible for supervising the providers of supplementary insurance in accordance with the Insurance Contract Act (VVG). CSS calls for sensible and appropriate levels of supervision.
Single (cantonal) health insurance scheme
CSS opposes single health insurance schemes at both the national and cantonal levels.
Self-responsibility Self-responsibility is an important component of mandatory health insurance that helps stem the rising tide of healthcare costs. CSS actively supports developments that encourage people to take responsibility for their health.
Inter-generational solidarity The inter-generational solidarity between young and old is a key element of our healthcare system, which is based on solidarity. CSS is committed to ensuring that solidarity takes a form acceptable to everyone and is implemented in a way that makes actuarial sense.
Integrated care CSS views integrated care as a key instrument in promoting quality and cost efficiency in the Swiss healthcare system.
Medication In a highly regulated market for medication, CSS champions the introduction of market mechanisms in pricing and in the insurers' right to appeal against the prices set by the Federal Office of Public Health.
Financing of care CSS supports a sustainable care financing arrangement, which spreads the costs between the mandatory healthcare insurance (OKP), the insured persons and the cantons.
Mandatory services/benefits (HTA) By law, mandatory healthcare insurance only pays for those services that are effective, appropriate and economical. Health technology assessments (HTAs) guarantee a systematic review of such services. That is why CSS supports the establishment of HTAs.
Prevention CSS recognises the considerable importance of prevention in healthcare provision. Like all other benefits under basic insurance, preventive measures covered by basic insurance should meet the criteria of effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness.
Quality Quality and transparency are imperative conditions for establishing sustainable competition that makes economic sense. CSS call for medical services and benefits to be disclosed transparently and subject to quality reviews.
Reduction of premium regions CSS generally stands by the current system of premium regions. Any adjustments to the way the premium regions are classified must be based on objective and easy-to-understand criteria.
Risk compensation A functioning system of risk compensation is the fundamental requirement for competition that makes economic sense. CSS therefore advocates refining the risk compensation system.
Hospital financing The current hospital financing system came into force in 2012. The question of what role the cantons should play in hospital planning remains to be discussed, as does the call for uniform funding rules for outpatient and inpatient services.
Uniform outpatient / inpatient financing (EFAS) CSS supports the EFAS system of uniform financing for outpatient / inpatient services, which can help eliminate false incentives.
Tariff structures The vast majority of medical services are provided via a variety of tariff structures (incl. TARMED, SwissDRG, LOA, Physiotherapy). CSS champions the further development of tariff structures in a manner that is fit for purpose.
TARMED revision The revision of the tariff structure for outpatient medical services is under way. CSS champions the further development of this tariff structure in a manner that is fit for purpose.
Separation of KVG & VVG
CSS opposes the separation of basic insurance and supplementary insurance, as this would result in additional costs and an additional administration burden being borne by the premium payers.
Partial VVG revision After the total revision of the Federal Insurance Contract Act (VVG) was referred back to the Federal Council by the Swiss Parliament in 2013, consultation proceedings on the partial revision are likely to be launched in 2016. CSS is campaigning for the disputed points in the referral decision to be implemented accordingly.
Territoriality principle CSS position statement on mandatory benefits under the KVG which could be provided across borders. The issue of quality is at the heart of this proposal.
Digitalisation Position statement on technological development and the associated impact on the healthcare system.
Cost containment measures Per capita healthcare costs continue to rise at rates that by far outstrip the cost of living and wage growth. CSS therefore considers effective cost containment measures to be necessary.
Data protection Data protection has been a central concern of CSS for decades. We take the most advanced security precautions to protect the sensitive data of those insured with us.
Zero night DRG Zero night DRGs are special flat rates within the SwissDRG tariff structure that would see any treatment carried out in hospital without the patient having to stay overnight now being paid for outside of the existing TARMED structure.
Shift from inpatient to outpatient The great advances made in medical services in recent years means that CSS welcomes the discussion on a greater shift away from inpatient towards outpatient treatment.
Brokers’ commissions CSS supports self-regulation within the industry as a means of promoting high quality and cost-effective advice, which is an important objective

Do you have any questions?

Are you interested in health policy? Do you have any questions, or would you like to discuss anything with us?

Contact form

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
CSS Versicherung

Gesundheitspolitik – Standpunkte der CSS

Die CSS informiert mit den gesundheitspolitischen Standpunkten und der Publikation „im dialog“ über ihre Haltung zu aktuellen Herausforderungen im Gesundheitswesen.

Gesundheitspolitische Standpunkte

Die CSS Versicherung veröffentlicht ihre Haltung zu aktuellen Fragen und Problemen des Gesundheitssystems in kurzen gesundheitspolitischen Standpunkten. Verständlich und übersichtlich werden die wichtigsten Brennpunkte und die Haltung der CSS Versicherung erklärt.

Aufsicht Zusatzversicherung FINMA Für die Aufsicht über die Zusatzversicherungen nach Versicherungsvertragsgesetz (VVG) ist die eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) zuständig. Die CSS verlangt eine sinnvolle und verhältnismässige Durchführung der Aufsicht.
(Kantonale) Einheitskasse
Die CSS spricht sich gegen nationale oder kantonale Einheitskassen aus.
Förderung der Eigenverantwortung Eigenverantwortung ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung, um die Kostenentwicklung zu dämpfen. Die CSS setzt sich für Entwicklungen ein, die eigenverantwortliches Handeln fördern.
Generationensolidarität Die Generationensolidarität zwischen Alt und Jung ist ein Bestandteil des solidarischen Gesundheitssystems. Die CSS setzt sich dafür ein, dass die Solidarität für alle tragbar und versicherungstechnisch sinnvoll umgesetzt wird.
Integrierte Versorgung Die CSS sieht in der integrierten Versorgung ein zentrales Instrument zur Förderung von Qualität und Kosteneffizienz im Schweizer Gesundheitswesen.
Medikamente Im stark regulierten Medikamentenmarkt setzt sich die CSS für die Einführung marktnaher Mechanismen bei der Preisbildung und des Beschwerderechts für die Versicherer gegen die Preisfestsetzung des BAG ein.
Pflegefinanzierung Die CSS unterstützt eine nachhaltige Pflegefinanzierung, welche die Kosten zwischen der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung (OKP), den Versicherten und den Kantonen aufteilt.
Pflichtleistungen (HTA) Die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung übernimmt nach Gesetz nur Leistungen, welche wirksam, zweckmässig und wirtschaftlich sind. Health Technology Assessments (HTA) garantieren eine systematische Überprüfung der Leistungen, weshalb die CSS die Etablierung von HTAs unterstützt.
Prävention Die CSS anerkennt den hohen Stellenwert der Prävention in der Gesundheitsversorgung. Präventionsleistungen, welche über die Grundversicherung abgegolten werden, sollen wie alle anderen Leistungen in der Grundversicherung den Kriterien Wirksamkeit, Zweckmässigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit entsprechen.
Qualität Qualität und Transparenz bilden zwingende Voraussetzungen für einen nachhaltigen und volkswirtschaftlich sinnvollen Wettbewerb. Die CSS fordert, dass medizinische Leistungen transparent ausgewiesen und qualitativ überprüft werden können.
Risikoausgleich Ein funktionierender Risikoausgleich ist die grundlegende Voraussetzung für einen volkswirtschaftlich sinnvollen Wettbewerb, deshalb setzt sich die CSS für die Verfeinerung des Risikoausgleichs ein.
Spitalfinanzierung  Die aktuelle Spitalfinanzierung trat 2012 in Kraft. Zu diskutieren bleibt die Rolle der Kantone im Rahmen der Spitalplanung sowie die Forderung nach einheitlichen Finanzierungsregeln für ambulante und stationäre Leistungen.
Spitalplanung Die CSS fordert, dass die Kantone auf Grundlage einer gesetzlichen Regelung im KVG verpflichtet werden, die Spitalplanung interkantonal unter Festlegung auf eine sinnvolle Anzahl von Versorgungsregionen vorzunehmen.
Einheitliche Finanzierung ambulant / stationär (EFAS) Die CSS unterstützt die einheitliche Finanzierung ambulant/ stationär EFAS. Damit können Fehlanreize eliminiert werden.
Tarifstrukturen Die grosse Mehrheit der medizinischen Leistungen wird über verschiedene Tarifstrukturen (u.a. TARMED, SwissDRG, LOA, Physiotherapie) abgerechnet. Die CSS setzt sich für die sachgerechte Weiterentwicklung der Tarifstrukturen ein.
TARMED-Revision Die Revision der Tarifstruktur für ambulante Arztleistungen ist im Gange. Die CSS setzt sich für die sachgerechte Weiterentwicklung dieser Tarifstruktur ein.
Trennung KVG / VVG
Die CSS spricht sich gegen die Trennung von Grundversicherung und Zusatzversicherung aus, da daraus Mehrkosten und ein administrativer Mehraufwand zulasten der Prämienzahler resultieren würden.
VVG-Teilrevision Nachdem die Totalrevision des Versicherungsvertragsgesetzes (VVG) 2013 vom Parlament zurück an den Bundesrat gewiesen wurde, wird 2016 voraussichtlich die Teilrevision in die Vernehmlassung geschickt. Die CSS setzt sich für eine kongruente Umsetzung der im Rückweisungsbeschluss beanstandeten Punkte ein.
Territorialitätsprinzip Gesundheitspolitische Haltung der CSS zu Pflichtleistungen im KVG, die grenzüberschreitend erbracht werden könnten. Im Zentrum steht dabei die Frage der Qualität.
Digitalisierung Gesundheitspolitische Haltung zur technologischen Entwicklung und der damit verbundenen Auswirkungen auf das Gesundheitssystem.
Kostenziele und Kostendämpfungsmassnahmen Die Kosten des Gesundheitswesens pro Versicherten steigen kontinuierlich mit Raten weit über Teuerung oder Lohnentwicklung an. Es braucht aus Sicht der CSS deshalb griffige Kostendämpfungsmassnahmen.
Datenschutz Der Datenschutz ist für die CSS seit Jahrzenten ein zentrales Thema. Dabei verfolgen wir höchste Sicherheitsvorkehrungen, um die sensiblen Daten unserer Versicherten zu schützen.
Ambulante Pauschalen Die CSS steht der Pauschalisierung von Einzelleistungen grundsätzlich positiv gegenüber. Die Kalkulation ambulanter Pauschalen muss aber zwingend auf der Grundlage ambulanter Daten erfolgen und den gesamten Bereich der ambulanten Leistungserbringung umfassen.
Zulassung / Steuerung im ambulanten Bereich Um einen Beitrag zur Qualität und zur Kosteneindämmung zu liefern begrüsst die CSS eine längerfristige Regelung der Zulassung von Leistungserbringern im ambulanten Bereich.
Verlagerung von stationär zu ambulant In der Medizin wurden in den letzten Jahren grosse Fortschritte gemacht, deshalb begrüsst die CSS die Diskussion über eine verstärkte Verlagerung vom stationären in den ambulanten Bereich.
Vermittlerprovisionen Um eine qualitativ hochstehende und kosteneffiziente Beratung zu fördern, was ein wichtiges Ziel ist, unterstützt die CSS die Selbstregulierung der Branche.

Haben Sie Fragen?

Interessieren Sie sich für Gesundheitspolitik und haben Sie Fragen oder möchten mit uns in Dialog treten?

Kontaktformular