0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

CSS Group

The CSS Group was founded in 1899 and is headquartered in Lucerne. Drawing on its long and proud tradition, the company insures around 1.66 million individuals. With a premium volume of 5.86 billion Swiss francs, it is one of Switzerland's leading health, accident and property insurers. The CSS Group is the market leader in basic insurance, having earned the trust of 1.33 million people. The company fosters close ties with those it insures, with 115 agencies throughout Switzerland and some 2,700 staff. CSS produces information that provides guidance and support in all aspects of health and healthcare.

Structure

The CSS Group comprises CSS Holding AG and its subsidiaries. CSS Holding AG is not listed on the stock exchange. It is subject to Swiss company law. The CSS Association is the sole shareholder of CSS Holding AG.

CSS Group

Companies offering basic insurance

Four companies within the CSS Group offer mandatory health insurance (basic insurance) under Swiss law. In addition to CSS Kranken-Versicherung AG, these are:

Companies offering supplementary insurance

CSS Versicherung AG and INTRAS Versicherung AG are responsible for providing supplementary insurance.

Company providing group accident insurance

CSS Versicherung AG also offers additional insurance solutions for:

  • group daily sickness indemnity insurance
  • group accident insurance
  • other insurance products under the Federal Insurance Contract Act (VVG), such as private liability and household contents insurance

Corporate Governance and Code of Conduct

Even although it is not a listed company, CSS adheres to corporate governance guidelines and principles. These determine the system of rules regarding organisation, actions and transparency through which the company is controlled and directed. In doing so, it is guided by the “Swiss Code of Best Practice for Corporate Governance” issued by economiesuisse, the umbrella organisation for the Swiss business sector.

Code of Conduct

History

CSS was founded in 1899 as a self-help organisation under the name Christlich Soziale Schweiz (Christian Social Switzerland, CSS), in response to Pope Leo XIII's "Rerum Novarum" encyclical, which addressed the emergence of a proletariat from the labouring classes. At the time, CSS viewed its objectives as specifically Christian. There has been little change in its actual purpose in the intervening years: our healthcare system is still based on solidarity, one expression of which is the uniform premium. Regardless of their income, all insured persons have access to healthcare services. In today's world, the values on which CSS Insurance is built, such as the principles of solidarity and fairness, are perceived as separate from basic Christian precepts.

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
CSS Versicherung

CSS Gruppe

Die CSS Gruppe mit Sitz in Luzern wurde 1899 gegründet. Das traditionsreiche Unternehmen versichert rund 1,66 Millionen Menschen und zählt mit einem Prämienvolumen von 5,86 Milliarden Franken zu den führenden Schweizer Kranken-, Unfall- und Sachversicherern. In der Grundversicherung ist sie Markführerin: 1,33 Millionen Menschen vertrauen der CSS, die mit 115 Agenturen schweizweit und rund 2'700 Mitarbeitenden nahe bei ihren Versicherten ist. Die CSS stellt Informationen zur Verfügung, die Orientierung bieten und in Fragen rund um die Gesundheit unterstützen.

Organigramm

Die CSS Gruppe umfasst die CSS Holding AG sowie die Tochtergesellschaften. Die CSS Holding AG ist nicht börsenkotiert und untersteht dem Aktienrecht. Alleinaktionär der CSS Holding AG ist der CSS Verein. 

CSS Gruppe

Gesellschaften der Grundversicherung

Vier Gesellschaften der CSS Gruppe bieten die obligatorische Krankenversicherung (Grundversicherung) an. Neben der CSS Kranken-Versicherung AG sind dies:

Gesellschaften der Zusatzversicherung

Für die Zusatzversicherung sind die CSS Versicherung AG und die INTRAS Versicherung AG verantwortlich.

Gesellschaft des Kollektiv-Unfallversicherungsgeschäfts

Die CSS Versicherung AG bietet zusätzliche Versicherungslösungen an:

  • kollektive Krankentaggeldversicherungen
  • kollektive Unfallversicherungen
  • andere Versicherungsprodukte nach dem Versicherungsvertragsgesetz (VVG), wie zum Beispiel Privathaftpflicht- und Hausratversicherungen

Corporate Governance und «Code of Conduct»

Auch als nicht börsenkotiertes Unternehmen handelt die CSS nach den Richtlinien und Grundsätzen der Corporate Governance. Diese umfasst die Regeln und Grundsätze von Organisation, Verhalten und Transparenz, durch die ein Unternehmen geleitet und kontrolliert wird. Dabei orientiert sie sich an den Richtlinien «Swiss Code of Best Practice for Corporate Governance» des Wirtschaftsdachverbandes economiesuisse.

Code of Conduct

Geschichte

Die CSS wurde 1899 unter dem Namen Christlich Soziale Schweiz (CSS) als Selbsthilfeorganisation und als Antwort auf die Enzyklika „Rerum Novarum“ von Papst Leo XIII. gegründet, der die Proletarisierung der Arbeiter thematisierte. Die CSS verstand ihr Wirken damals als konkretes christliches Engagement. An der Aufgabe hat sich prinzipiell nicht viel geändert: Unser Gesundheitssystem basiert auf Solidarität, was unter anderem in der Einheitsprämie zum Ausdruck kommt. Unabhängig von ihrem Einkommen haben alle Versicherten Zugang zu medizinischen Leistungen. Die Werte der CSS Versicherung, die unter anderem auf dem Prinzip der Solidarität und Gerechtigkeit basieren, werden heute als unabhängig von christlichen Grundwerten wahrgenommen