0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Questions and answers

What consequences does moving home have?

The qualifying date for the premium credit and premium surcharge is 1 January 2017. If you move to a different canton after that date, this will not be taken into consideration.  

How will payment be made?

Any premium credit due will be received in June 2017. The credit will be offset against the June premium wherever possible, or otherwise paid out. It will go to the person paying the premium at the time.

Will there be further corrections in future?

On behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG), the insurers will carry out the corrections for the period from 1996 to 2013 in 2015, 2016 and 2017. According to the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG), no further corrections are to be expected.

What happens during military service?

Even if insurance cover is suspended during military service, you remain entitled to receive a one-off premium credit, if applicable. The premium credit will be paid in June 2017.

As a cross-border commuter working in Switzerland or Swiss person living abroad am I affected by the premium correction?

As the legal place of residence is the determining factor when it comes to calculating the premium correction, cross-border commuters who live abroad and expatriate Swiss nationals are not affected.

Will anything change for recipients of Federal disability insurance benefits, supplementary benefits or premium reductions?

The same amount will be paid out to each individual, regardless of any social security benefits. Such persons remain entitled to receive a one-off premium credit, as the case may be. The premium credit will be paid in June 2017.

Am I affected by the premium correction if I come to Switzerland from abroad?

If your statutory obligation to take out health insurance begins after 1 January 2017, you are not entitled to a premium credit.

What happens if I change insurer during the year?

The rules applicable to the canton in which you were living on 1 January 2017 will apply. Your previous insurer must notify your new insurer of your canton of residence on that date.

How did this law come about?

In February 2012, at the instigation of certain cantons, the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) drafted a revision of the legislation to provide for a premium correction (Art. 106 KVG). This move was prompted by the supposed difference between cantonal premium revenues and health expenditure in relation to basic insurance. In spring 2014, the Swiss parliament approved an amended version of the article. The Federal Office of Public Health set out arrangements for implementation in September 2014, in the form of an Ordinance.

How is it possible that premiums were calculated incorrectly?

The health insurance companies submit the premiums they propose to charge for the following calendar year, by canton, to the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) at the end of each July. These are based on the expected costs per canton. The BAG is mandated by the Federal Council to check whether the proposed premiums are appropriate in relation to the costs the insurers are required to bear in the respective canton. Given the large number of unknown factors (such as how costs will develop in future), a degree of uncertainty is always involved in calculating premiums. That is why insurers establish provisions and reserves. As health insurers are not allowed to make a profit out of basic insurance, the money therefore remains in the system and is used solely to pay benefits, and for no other purpose. However, reserves are not calculated on a cantonal basis. This gave rise to the minimal differences between premiums revenues and the costs of healthcare per canton. The cantons have now asked for these differences to be redressed. Politicians have approved this request. In other words, premiums have always been calculated correctly. However, a political decision has been made to change the rules retroactively.

Are insured persons now being made to pay for something the health insurers did wrong?

No, the health insurance providers have always calculated and proposed premiums in accordance with the applicable laws. By checking and approving the premiums, the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) confirmed that this was the case. The premium correction has come about because of a political decision and does not in any way mean that the health insurers made a mistake. In actual fact, the rules have been changed retrospectively at political level.

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr  
 

Fragen & Antworten

Welches sind die Folgen eines Umzugs?

Stichtag für die Prämiengutschrift ist der 1. Januar 2017. Kantonswechsel die nachher stattfinden, werden nicht berücksichtigt.

Wie erfolgt die Auszahlung?

Die Vergütung einer allfälligen Prämiengutschrift erfolgt 2017 im Juni. Die Gutschrift wird soweit möglich mit der Prämie vom Juni verrechnet oder ansonsten ausbezahlt. Sie geht an diejenige Person, die zum Zeitpunkt der Vergütung die Prämie zahlt.

Gibt es in Zukunft weitere Korrekturen?

Die Versicherer nehmen im Auftrag des Bundesamts für Gesundheit (BAG) in den Jahren 2015 - 2017 die Korrekturen der Jahre 1996 - 2013 vor. Weitere Korrekturen sind gemäss Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) nicht zu erwarten. 

Was passiert während des Militärdienstes?

Trotz Sistierung bei Militärdienst besteht das Recht auf eine einmalige Prämiengutschrift. Die Vergütung der Prämiengutschrift erfolgt im Juni 2017.

Bin ich als in der Schweiz arbeitender Grenzgänger oder als Auslandschweizer von der Prämienkorrektur betroffen?

Da der gesetzliche Wohnort massgeblich für die Berechnung der Prämienkorrektur ist, sind weder im Ausland wohnhafte Grenzgänger noch Auslandschweizer davon betroffen.

Ändert sich etwas für Empfänger von Leistungen der Invalidenversicherung, von Ergänzungsleistungen und Prämienverbilligungen?

Der individuell ausgezahlte Betrag bleibt bei allen Sozialleistungen derselbe. Es besteht weiterhin das Recht auf eine einmalige Prämiengutschrift. Die Vergütung der Prämiengutschrift erfolgt im Juni 2017.

Bin ich von der Prämienkorrektur betroffen, wenn ich vom Ausland in die Schweiz einreise?

Beginnt die Versicherungspflicht nach dem 1. Januar 2017, besteht kein Anrecht auf eine Prämiengutschrift.

Wie wird ein Versicherungswechsel während dem Jahr gehandhabt?

Es gilt der gesetzliche Wohnkanton vom 1. Januar 2017. Der Vorversicherer hat dem neuen Versicherer den Wohnkanton per 1. Januar 2017 zu melden.

Wie kam das Gesetz zustande?

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) hat auf Anregung einzelner Kantone im Februar 2012 einen Gesetzesentwurf zur Prämienkorrektur (Art. 106 KVG) erarbeitet. Hintergrund ist eine vermeintliche Differenz von kantonalen Prämieneinnahmen und Gesundheitsausgaben in der Grundversicherung. Das Parlament hat im Frühjahr 2014 eine veränderte Version verabschiedet. Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit hat die Umsetzung im September 2014 im Rahmen einer Verordnung geregelt.

Wie kann es sein, dass die Prämien falsch berechnet wurden?

Die Krankenversicherer geben jeweils per Ende Juli beim Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) ihre Prämien pro Kanton für das folgende Kalenderjahr ein. Basis bilden die zu erwartenden Kosten pro Kanton. Das BAG überprüft im Auftrag des Bundesrats, ob die eingereichten Prämien im Verhältnis zu den Kosten, die die Versicherer im entsprechenden Kanton zu tragen haben, angemessen sind. Die Prämienberechnung ist aufgrund zahlreicher unbekannter Faktoren (beispielsweise der künftigen Kostenentwicklung) stets mit gewissen Unsicherheiten behaftet. Aus diesem Grund bilden die Versicherer Rückstellungen und Reserven. Da es Krankenversicherern in der Grundversicherung nicht erlaubt ist, Gewinne zu erzielen, bleibt das Geld in jedem Fall im System und wird einzig und allein zur Zahlung von Leistungen verwendet. Die Reserven werden aber nicht kantonal kalkuliert. Auf diese Weise kamen die minimalen Differenzen zwischen den Prämieneinnahmen und den Gesundheitskosten pro Kanton zustande. Die Kantone haben nun einen Ausgleich dieser Differenzen verlangt. Die Politik ist diesem Anliegen gefolgt. Die Prämien wurden also jederzeit korrekt berechnet, doch wurden die Regeln aufgrund eines politischen Entscheides im Nachhinein geändert.

Müssen die Versicherten auslöffeln, was die Krankenversicherungen falsch gemacht haben?

Nein. Die Krankenversicherer haben die Prämien immer nach Massgabe der geltenden Gesetze berechnet und eingegeben. Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) hat dies jeweils mit der Genehmigung der Prämien überprüft und bestätigt. Die Prämienkorrektur kam nun aufgrund eines politischen Entscheids zustande und bedeutet keineswegs, dass die Krankenversicherungen einen Fehler gemacht haben, sondern dass die Regeln im Nachhinein auf politischer Ebene geändert wurden.

Weiterführende Links