0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Background

Each year, health insurance providers have their premiums approved by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). Their calculations are based on anticipated costs of healthcare in the individual cantons. On behalf of the Federal Council, the Federal Office of Public Health checks whether or not these premiums are reasonable. Given the large number of unknown factors, such as how costs will develop in future, a degree of uncertainty is always involved in calculating premiums. Insurers create provisions and reserves to even out any deficits and to prevent fluctuations in premiums.

By law, health insurance providers are not permitted to make any profit on mandatory healthcare insurance. Premiums may be used only to pay benefits. This means that premium funds remain within the system in the form of reserves. The law does not make any provision for these reserves to be distributed between the cantons, or for any maximum reserve ratio.

This creation of reserves at the national level means that, for some cantons, premium revenues and healthcare costs under basic insurance have been out of balance since 1996. Although the variation in relation to total premiums is marginal, some cantons have insisted on compensation for these differences.

The political process

Despite criticism from health insurance providers, political parties and the majority of the cantons, the Swiss parliament was presented with a bill from the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA) which proposed the correction of premiums paid between 1996 and 2013 (Art. 106 of the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG)). Following a counterproposal, and a decision not to consider the first draft of the bill, in February 2013 the FDHA presented a new draft bill, which was ultimately passed by both chambers of parliament in the spring of 2014. The corresponding implementing ordinance enters into force on 1 January 2015.

0844 277 277 Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr
Mo-Fr 8-18 Uhr  
 

Hintergründe

Die Krankenversicherer lassen jedes Jahr ihre Prämien durch das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) bewilligen. Basis für die Berechnung sind die zu erwartenden kantonalen Kosten. Das BAG überprüft im Auftrag des Bundesrats, ob sie angemessen sind. Die Prämienberechnung ist aufgrund zahlreicher unbekannter Faktoren (beispielsweise der künftigen Kostenentwicklung) stets mit gewissen Unsicherheiten behaftet. Um allfällige Defizite ausgleichen und Prämienschwankungen verhindern zu können, bilden die Versicherer Rückstellungen und Reserven.

Die Krankenversicherer dürfen in der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung von Gesetzes wegen keine Gewinne erzielen. Die Prämien dürfen nur dazu verwendet werden, Leistungen zu bezahlen. Die Prämiengelder bleiben also in jedem Fall als Reserven im System. Vom Gesetz her ist weder eine Aufteilung der Reserven nach Kantonen noch eine maximale Reservequote vorgesehen.

Diese nationale Bildung von Reserven hat dazu geführt, dass Prämieneinnahmen und Gesundheitskosten in der Grundversicherung in einigen Kantonen seit 1996 nicht identisch sind. Obwohl die Abweichungen in Bezug auf die Prämiensumme marginal sind, haben einzelne Kantone jedoch auf einen Ausgleich dieser Differenzen gepocht.

Der politische Prozess

Trotz der Kritik von Krankenversicherern, Parteien und der Mehrheit der Kantone wurde dem Parlament der Vorschlag des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern (EDI) zur Korrektur der zwischen 1996 und 2013 bezahlten Prämien (Art. 106 KVG) unterbreitet. Nach einem Gegenvorschlag und einem Nichteintretens-Entscheid auf die erste Vorlage legte das EDI im Februar 2013 einen neuen Gesetzesentwurf vor, der schliesslich von beiden Kammern im Frühjahr 2014 verabschiedet wurde. Die dazugehörige Verordnung zur Ausführung des Gesetzes ist per 1.1.2015 in Kraft getreten.

Weiterführende Links