0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

Second opinion

Has a doctor recommended an operation, but you are not sure whether this particular procedure is really the best option or whether there might be meaningful alternatives? If you’re planning to have an operation, we can offer you the chance to get a second medical opinion for free. This means that another impartial doctor not involved in the case will assess your medical situation. This neutral assessment may help you to decide for or against the operation and find out whether or not it is worth discussing alternative treatment methods with your doctor.

Our offer for you: Second opinion

Advantages of a second opinion

  • You can be sure that you are making the right decision
  • You can identify alternative treatment options
  • Neutrality (the doctor offering the second opinion does not administer treatment)
  • Your situation will be assessed by a proven specialist
  • It’s free if you have supplementary medical costs insurance with CSS or Intras

Are you interested?

We offer the second opinion service online. This takes 10 days and can be used for operations in the field of orthopaedics or vascular and abdominal disease, as well as neurosurgery and cardiac surgery. Please note that a second opinion is only suitable for planned operations and not for emergency surgery.

Alternative to online second opinion

We offer alternatives to the online second opinion: you can arrange to get a second opinion yourself or ask us to coordinate it for you. If you already know that an operation is necessary, we recommend our preparing for surgery service.

Letting us coordinate a second opinion for you

When you ask us to coordinate a second opinion, we’ll arrange a doctor’s appointment for you. A second opinion can be sought in all fields of medical practice (except oncology) and takes around 6-8 weeks.

Arranging a second opinion yourself

After consulting with us on 0844 277 277, you can go ahead and organise a second opinion yourself: Arrange an appointment with a doctor of your choice and then notify us accordingly. A second opinion can be sought for operations in all fields of medical practice (except oncology).

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
CSS Assurance

Second avis médical

Un médecin vous a proposé de vous faire opérer, mais vous vous demandez si cette intervention est vraiment la meilleure solution ou s’il en existe d’autres judicieuses? En cas d’opération planifiée, nous vous offrons la possibilité de demander un second avis médical. Il s’agit d’une évaluation médicale effectuée par un médecin neutre et non impliqué. Celle-ci vous aide à prendre une décision pour ou contre une opération et à savoir si vous devriez aussi envisager d’autres méthodes de traitement avec votre médecin.

Notre offre pour vous: le second avis médical

Les avantages d’un second avis médical

  • Davantage d’assurance dans la prise de décision
  • Identification des autres possibilités de traitement
  • Neutralité (pas de traitement de la part du médecin donnant le second avis médical)
  • Evaluation par des experts reconnus
  • Offre gratuite, à condition de disposer d’une assurance complémentaire pour frais de guérison auprès de la CSS ou d’INTRAS

Etes-vous intéressé/e?

Nous vous proposons le second avis médical en ligne. Il dure environ 10 jours et peut être demandé en cas d’opération dans les domaines de l’orthopédie, des maladies vasculaires et abdominales, de la neurochirurgie et de la chirurgie cardiaque. A noter que le second avis médical peut être demandé uniquement pour les interventions planifiées et non pas en cas d’urgence.

Alternative au second avis médical en ligne

Comme alternative au second avis médical en ligne, nous vous offrons la possibilité d’organiser vous-même le second avis médical ou de nous laisser le coordonner. Si vous savez déjà qu’une opération s’impose, nous vous recommandons notre préparation à une opération.

Coordination du second avis médical par nos soins

En cas de coordination du second avis médical par nos soins, nous fixons pour vous un rendez-vous avec le médecin. Le second avis médical peut être demandé pour des opérations dans tous les domaines (hormis l’oncologie) et dure environ 6 à 8 semaines.

Organisation du second avis médical par vos soins

Vous pouvez aussi gérer vous-même la coordination du second avis médical. Fixez un rendez-vous avec le médecin de votre choix et communiquez-le-nous au préalable au 058 277 15 69. Le second avis médical peut être demandé pour des opérations dans tous les domaines (hormis l’oncologie).