0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Mandatory basic insurance

Basic insurance is mandatory for everyone who is resident in Switzerland. It provides cover for the statutory basic benefits in case of illness, accident and maternity.

Mandatory health insurance (standard model)

As the insured person, you are completely free to choose your own doctor within your canton of residence or at your place of work. You are entitled to consult any doctor or specialist directly at any time.

Mandatory health insurance

Alternative insurance models

Alongside the traditional model of basic insurance, CSS also offers three different alternatives. In return for a premium discount, you decide in advance who you will contact first in health-related matters.

Basic insurance cover - your benefits

You receive the same benefits under all four basic insurance models – provided you consult your chosen first point of contact, as agreed. Basic insurance cover is also the same no matter which general health insurance company you choose.

Basic insurance cover

Frequently asked questions

Why don't I pay the same premium when I move?

The Federal Office of Public Health defines the specific premium regions. Health insurance companies are obliged to accept this arrangement with respect to the basic insurance.

Health insurance premiums reflect the general costs of health care. In areas where many medical services are on offer, they are usually more often used. So in urban areas with many medical practices and specialised clinics, expenditure for health is higher than in rural areas where less doctors practise. The difference is substantial.

Is a retention fee charged for children who have basic insurance?

Yes. A retention fee of 10% is charged for children who have basic insurance until they reach the age of 18; the maximum amount charged per calendar year is CHF 350.

Why does the basic insurance not cover any dental treatment?

The benefits of the Swiss basic insurance are the same for all insurance companies and for all insured persons. The actual benefits are determined in the Federal Law on Health Insurance and the appropriate ordinances. According to the legislation the basic insurance only covers dental treatment costs if the masticatory system is impaired by a serious, unavoidable illness or injured in an accident. The treatment costs for general illnesses are also covered.

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
Lu-Ve 8-18 heures  
 

Assurance de base obligatoire

L’assurance de base est obligatoire pour toutes les personnes résidant en Suisse. Elle couvre les prestations de base légales en cas de maladie, d’accident et de grossesse.

Assurance-maladie obligatoire (modèle standard)

En tant que personne assurée, vous avez le libre choix du médecin dans votre canton de résidence ou à proximité de votre lieu de travail. Vous pouvez aller consulter directement n’importe quel médecin ou spécialiste.

Assurance-maladie obligatoire

Modèles alternatifs d’assurance

A part le modèle classique d’assurance de base, la CSS vous propose trois alternatives. Vous déterminez au préalable votre interlocuteur pour toutes les questions de santé et bénéficiez en contrepartie d’un rabais sur les primes.

Couverture de l’assurance de base – vos prestations

Dans l’assurance de base, vous bénéficiez des mêmes prestations dans chacun des quatre modèles, pour autant que vous ayez choisi le bon interlocuteur lors de votre premier contact avec le médecin. La couverture de l’assurance de base est identique dans toutes les caisses-maladie.

Couverture de l’assurance de base

Foire aux questions

Pourquoi existe-t-il différentes régions de primes?

Les régions de primes sont réparties par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique. Les caisses-maladie sont tenues de reprendre ces régions de primes dans l’assurance de base.

Les primes des caisses-maladie sont le reflet des coûts de la santé. Là où l'offre médicale est plus grande, elle est aussi plus utilisée. Par conséquent, les dépenses pour la santé sont plus importantes dans les régions citadines où il y a de nombreux cabinets médicaux et de nombreuses cliniques spécialisées que dans les régions rurales où moins de médecins sont établis. Les différences sont considérables.

Les enfants doivent-ils aussi s'acquitter d'une quote-part dans l'assurance de base?

Oui, pour les prestations de l'assurance de base, une quote-part de 10% est également perçue chez les enfants jusqu'à l'âge de 18 ans révolus; le montant maximum par année civile s'élève à CHF 350.

Pourquoi l’assurance de base ne paie-t-elle pas les traitements dentaires?

Les prestations de l’assurance de base sont les mêmes pour tous les assurés dans toute la Suisse. C’est la loi fédérale et l’ordonnance sur l’assurance-maladie qui fixent quelles sont ces prestations. Selon la loi, l’assurance de base couvre les traitements dentaires lorsque le système masticatoire a été endommagé par une maladie grave inévitable ou par un accident. Pour tous les autres traitements, il est possible de conclure une assurance facultative pour soins dentaires.