0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Making it easy to switch health insurer

Would you like to change to CSS Insurance (CSS, Arcosana, Intras)? - We will show you what you need to consider, and give you some useful tips about how quick and easy it is to change your health insurer.

How to change health insurer

To be able to change health insurer, you need to terminate your current health insurance by the set deadline. We nonetheless recommend that you get a quote from CSS before you give notice on your existing insurance. A notice period of one month applies to terminate your basic insurance properly with effect from 1 January. This means that you should give notice on your basic insurance by 30 November. You can then switch general health insurance company the following January, and will be insured with the CSS Group in the new year.

Change basic insurance by 30 November

  1. Calculate your personal premium and request a non-binding offer using our premium calculator.
  2. Conclude a contract directly online or print out the application and return it to CSS Insurance, fully completed and duly signed.
  3. Notice of termination by registered letter must reach your current general health insurance company by 30 November or the last working day of November.
  4. You will receive confirmation of admission within a few days.

Change supplementary insurance by 30 September

  1. Calculate your personal premium and request a non-binding offer using our premium calculator.
  2. Conclude a contract directly online or print out the application and return it to CSS Insurance, fully completed and duly signed. If you can be admitted to the insurance without reservation, we will send notice of termination to your current insurer on your behalf.
  3. Supplementary insurance is subject to a risk assessment. Depending on the information given, further medical information may be required. CSS will make every effort to communicate its decision regarding admission quickly.
  4. Check your current insurance policy to find out the notice periods of your general health insurance company. We recommend not cancelling your current insurance until you have received confirmation of admission from CSS.

Frequently asked questions

Why don't I pay the same premiums everywhere?

The Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) defines specific premium regions. General health insurance companies are obliged to accept this arrangement with respect to basic insurance.

Health insurance premiums reflect the general costs of health care. If there are a large number of medical services available, greater use will be made of them. So in urban areas with many medical practices and specialised clinics, health expenditure is higher than in rural areas where fewer doctors practise. The differences are substantial.

By changing to an alternative insurance model, you can nevertheless save on premiums for basic insurance.

Does my new insurance cover take effect immediately?

Yes and no. There is a distinction here between basic insurance and supplementary insurance.

  • In the case of basic insurance, your cover commences from the date on which the insurance begins – usually 1 January.
  • In the case of supplementary insurance, there is often a "qualifying period". E.g. benefits for damage to teeth or pregnancy can only be drawn after a certain waiting period.

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
Lu-Ve 8-18 heures  
 

Changez de caisse-maladie en tout simplicité

Vous aimeriez passer à la CSS Assurance (CSS, Arcosana, Intras) ? Nous vous montrons à quoi vous devriez faire attention et vous donnons des conseils utiles pour vous permettre de changer de caisse-maladie rapidement et facilement.

Procédure pour changer de caisse-maladie

Pour pouvoir changer de caisse-maladie, vous devez résilier votre assurance actuelle dans les délais. Nous vous recommandons toutefois de demander une offre à la CSS avant de résilier votre contrat auprès de votre caisse-maladie actuelle. Conformément aux prescriptions, le délai de résiliation de l’assurance de base au 1er janvier est d’un mois. Cela signifie que vous devez résilier votre assurance de base d’ici au 30 novembre afin de pouvoir changer de caisse-maladie au mois de janvier de l’année suivante et ainsi être assuré(e) auprès du Groupe CSS pour la nouvelle année.

Changer d’assurance de base jusqu’au 30 novembre

  1. Calculez votre prime personnelle et commandez une offre sans engagement avec notre calculateur de primes.
  2. Utilisez la conclusion directe en ligne ou imprimez la proposition et envoyez-la dûment complétée et signée à la CSS Assurance.
  3. La résiliation doit être parvenue par recommandé à votre caisse-maladie actuelle d’ici au 30 novembre ou jusqu’au dernier jour ouvrable de novembre.
  4. Vous recevez la confirmation d’admission en l’espace de quelques jours.

Changer d’assurance complémentaire jusqu’au 30 septembre

  1. Calculez votre prime personnelle et commandez une offre sans engagement avec notre calculateur de primes.
  2. Utilisez la conclusion directe en ligne ou imprimez la proposition et envoyez-la dûment complétée et signée à la CSS Assurance. Nous nous chargeons de la résiliation auprès de votre assureur précédent en cas d’admission sans réserve.
  3. L’assurance complémentaire est soumise à un examen du risque. Selon les indications, d’autres renseignements médicaux devront être demandés. La CSS met tout en œuvre pour communiquer rapidement sa décision concernant l’admission.
  4. Contrôlez sur votre police d’assurance actuelle les délais de résiliation de votre assurance-maladie. Il est recommandé de résilier l’ancienne assurance seulement après que la CSS a confirmé l’admission.

Foire aux questions

Pourquoi le montant des primes n'est-il pas le même partout ?

L'Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) répartit les régions de primes. Pour l'assurance de base, les assurance-maladies sont tenues d'en tenir compte.

Les primes des assurances-maladie reflètent les coûts de la santé. Plus l'offre médicale est grande, plus on y a recours. C'est pourquoi les dépenses médicales dans les régions urbaines ayant de nombreux cabinets médicaux et cliniques spécialisées sont plus élevées que dans les régions rurales, qui comptent moins de médecin. Les différences sont considérables.

En changeant pour un modèle alternatif d'assurance, vous pouvez tout de même économiser sur les primes de l'assurance de base.

Ma nouvelle couverture d'assurance est-elle valable avec effet immédiat?

Oui et non. Ici, nous distinguons l'assurance de base et l'assurance complémentaire.

  • Pour l'assurance de base, vous êtes assuré(e) à partir du début de l'assurance, en général le 1er janvier.
  • Les assurances complémentaires ont souvent ce qu'on appelle des délais de carence. P. ex. en cas de problèmes dentaires ou de grossesse, il n'est possible de bénéficier de prestations qu'après un certain délai d'attente.