0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Your deductible – your choice

If you, as an insured person, claim benefits such as a doctor's appointment, or if you need medication, you pay a share of the costs. However, you can decide how much of healthcare costs you wish to pay each calendar year. The amount that you pay is divided into the deductible and the retention fee. The level of deductible is laid down in law. The statutory minimum deductible (standard deductible) for adults is CHF 300 per year. The standard deductible does not apply to children under the age of 18. The amount refers to one year in each case. If your healthcare costs exceed your deductible, you still pay the retention fee of 10%.

Your choice of deductible

Instead of the standard deductible, you are free to choose a higher selectable deductible. Children may also choose a deductible and thus receive a premium reduction. It is worth mentioning here that the higher your deductible, the lower your premium.

Adults (all amounts in CHF)

Annual deductible Reduction per month (maximum) Reduction per year (maximum)
500 11.60 140.00
1000 40.80 490.00
1500 70.00 840.00
2000 99.10 1190.00
2500 128.30 1540.00

Children (all amounts in CHF)

Annual deductible Reduction per month (maximum) Reduction per year (maximum)
100 5.80 70.00
200 11.60 140.00
300 17.50 210.00
400 23.30 280.00
600 35.00 420.00

Retention fee & co-payment

As an insured person, you pay a fixed sum per calendar year (deductible) and a retention fee (10%, up to a maximum of CHF 700 per calendar year for adults over the age of 18, and CHF 350 for children) for outpatient and inpatient treatment.

You will also pay a retention fee on the costs that exceed the deductible.

Example of co-payment

Outpatient treatment; adult with ordinary deductible CHF 300

Medical bill CHF 450  
./. deductible   CHF 300
Remainder CHF 150  
of which 10% is retention fee   CHF 15
Total co-payment billed
to the insured person
CHF 315

The next time the customer falls ill (in the same year), he or she pays only the retention fee.

Exceptions

There are a number of exceptions that apply to children and young people in education, for example, as well as to maternity benefits. Please refer to the customer information sheet on Calculation of co-payment.

Frequently asked questions

What deductible should you choose?

You should take the following points into consideration when deciding which deductible is best for you.  If you decide in favour of a low co-payment, your health insurance premium will be somewhat higher. To help you reach a decision, we recommend taking a look at your healthcare costs over the past few years. This will allow you to determine whether you would prefer to choose a low deductible or pay a greater share of your healthcare costs out of your own pocket.

How can the deductible be changed?

You can change your deductible with effect from 1 January each year. Please note the period of notice.

What does a higher deductible mean?

You need to have money set aside to cover your deductible should the worst case scenario arise. This is the amount up to which you, as policyholder, must pay the costs out of your own pocket. If the total costs are higher than the deductible, the general health insurance company will pick up the tab for the remaining amount after deducting the retention fee.

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
Lu-Ve 8-18 heures  
 

Franchise – Vous avez le choix

Si, en tant qu’assuré(e), vous vous rendez chez le médecin ou avez besoin de médicaments, une partie des frais est à votre charge. Vous pouvez cependant définir vous-même le montant des frais de santé que vous souhaitez payer par année civile. Le montant dont vous devez vous acquitter se compose de la franchise et de la quote-part. Le montant de la franchise est fixé par la loi. La franchise minimale légale (franchise ordinaire) est de CHF 300 par an pour les adultes. Pour les enfants (jusqu’à 18 ans révolus), il n’y a pas de franchise. Le montant concerne toujours une année. Si vos frais de santé dépassent votre franchise, vous payez en outre une quote-part de 10%.

Franchises à option

Vous pouvez choisir une franchise à option plus élevée au lieu de la franchise ordinaire. Les enfants peuvent également opter pour une franchise et bénéficier ainsi d’une réduction de primes. Il vaut la peine de mentionner que plus la franchise est élevée, meilleur marché est votre prime.

Adultes (Tous les montants en CHF)

Franchise par an Réduction
par mois (maximum)
Réduction
par an (maximum)
500 11.60 140.00
1000 40.80 490.00
1500 70.00 840.00
2000 99.10 1190.00
2500 128.30 1540.00

Enfants (Tous les montants en CHF)

Franchise par an Réduction par mois (maximum) Réduction par an (maximum)
100 5.80 70.00
200 11.60 140.00
300 17.50 210.00
400 23.30 280.00
600 35.00 420.00

Quote-part & participation aux coûts

En tant qu’assuré(e), vous payez un montant fixe par année civile pour les traitements ambulatoires et stationnaires (la franchise) et une quote-part (10%, au maximum CHF 700 par année civile pour les adultes dès 18 ans et CHF 350 pour les enfants).

Vous payez la quote-part de 10% sur les montants qui dépassent la franchise.

Exemple de participation aux coûts

Traitement ambulatoire, adulte avec franchise ordinaire de CHF 300:

Facture de médecin CHF 450  
./. franchise CHF 300 CHF 300
Montant restant CHF 150  
dont quote-part 10%   CHF 15
Total participation aux coûts
à la charge de l’assuré
CHF 315

Lors du prochain cas de maladie (la même année), le client ne paiera plus que la quote-part.

Exceptions

Il existe diverses exceptions valables pour les enfants et les jeunes en formation ou pour les prestations de maternité. Pour de tels cas, merci de vous référer à l’information à la clientèle Calcul de la participation aux coûts.

Foire aux questions

Quelle franchise choisir ?

Voici quelques conseils pour vous aider à choisir votre franchise personnelle. Si vous optez pour une participation peu élevée, votre prime d’assurance-maladie sera un peu plus élevée. Nous vous recommandons d’étudier vos frais de santé de ces dernières années. Vous pourrez ainsi décider vous-même si vous choisissez une petite franchise ou si vous êtes prêt(e) à supporter vous-même une part plus importante de vos coûts de santé en choisissant une franchise plus élevée.

Quand est-il possible de changer de franchise?

Vous pouvez changer votre franchise chaque année au 1er janvier. Merci de respecter le délai de résiliation.

Que signifie une franchise plus élevée?

Vous devez disposer du montant de votre franchise au cas où vous seriez sérieusement malade. En tant que preneur d’assurance vous devez payer les frais jusqu’à concurrence de ce montant. Si le montant dépasse celui de la franchise, l'assurance-maladie prend en charge le montant supplémentaire, après déduction de la quote-part.