0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

Generics

Generics are medicines which are identical to the original preparations with respect to the active ingredient, dosage and form of administration (e.g. tablet or syrup) and which may thus substitute for the original on expiry of the 15-year patent protection. Generics usually cost much less than original drugs.

Deciding between the generic medicine and the original preparation

If the original preparation is not strictly required for medical purposes, your pharmacist will be able to offer you a generic form of the medication instead, which is usually less expensive.

Retention fee

Since 1 July 2011 new rules decided by the Federal Council have been in place, which stipulate an increased retention fee of 20% for certain medicine based on the list (in German) maintained by the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG). This may be either a generic medicine or an original preparation.

A 20% retention fee applies to medication (both original preparations and generics) it its price exceeds the average price of the cheapest one-third of all medicines with the same active ingredient by at least 20%.

The higher retention fee will not be charged if an original preparation is crucial for medical reasons. In such situations, CSS requires a medical certificate from the attending doctor.

Because prices changes regularly we recommend that you find out about the current retention fee each time you collect your prescription medication from your doctor or pharmacist.

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
Lu-Ve 8-18 heures  
 

Génériques

Les génériques sont des médicaments qui sont identiques à un médicament original quant à leur principe actif, à leur dosage et à leur présentation (p. ex. comprimés, sirop) et peuvent les remplacer une fois échue la protection du brevet de quinze ans. En règle générale, les génériques sont sensiblement meilleur marché que les préparations originales.

Décider entre générique et préparation originale

Les pharmaciens peuvent remplacer les préparations originales par des génériques, en général meilleur marché, lorsque la délivrance de la préparation originale n’est pas expressément requise par le médecin.

Quote-part pour les coûts

Depuis le 1er juillet 2011, une nouvelle réglementation a été mise en place par le Conseil fédéral qui impose une quote-part de 20% pour certains médicaments. La base est la liste des génériques publiée par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP). Cette liste peut concerner soit des génériques, soit des préparations originales.

La quote-part pour les médicaments (préparations originales et génériques) est de 20% lorsque son prix est d’au moins 20% plus cher que la moyenne du tiers du médicament le meilleur marché contenant le même principe actif.

Une quote-part plus élevée n’est pas facturée lorsqu’une préparation originale est nécessaire pour des raisons médicales. Dans de tels cas, la CSS a besoin d’une attestation médicale du médecin traitant.

Du fait des modifications régulières de prix, nous vous recommandons, lorsque vous vous procurez un médicament prescrit auprès d‘un médecin ou d‘un pharmacien, de vous renseigner au sujet de la quote-part en vigueur.