0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

Health policy – position papers and dialogue

CSS publishes its views on the current challenges facing healthcare in short position statements and in its 'im dialog' publication.

Political position of CSS Insurance

CSS Insurance makes its viewpoint on the latest issues and problems in healthcare known by publishing short position statements on various aspects of public health policy. The main focal points are explained in a clear and comprehensible manner along with CSS Insurance's stance on the matter.

Supervision by FINMA The Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) is responsible for supervising the providers of supplementary insurance in accordance with the Insurance Contract Act (VVG). CSS calls for sensible and appropriate levels of supervision.
Single (cantonal) health insurance scheme
CSS opposes single health insurance schemes at both the national and cantonal levels.
Self-responsibility Self-responsibility is an important component of mandatory health insurance that helps stem the rising tide of healthcare costs. CSS actively supports developments that encourage people to take responsibility for their health.
Inter-generational solidarity The inter-generational solidarity between young and old is a key element of our healthcare system, which is based on solidarity. CSS is committed to ensuring that solidarity takes a form acceptable to everyone and is implemented in a way that makes actuarial sense.
Integrated care CSS views integrated care as a key instrument in promoting quality and cost efficiency in the Swiss healthcare system.
Medication In a highly regulated market for medication, CSS champions the introduction of market mechanisms in pricing and in the insurers' right to appeal against the prices set by the Federal Office of Public Health.
Financing of care CSS supports a sustainable care financing arrangement, which spreads the costs between the mandatory healthcare insurance (OKP), the insured persons and the cantons.
Mandatory services/benefits (HTA) By law, mandatory healthcare insurance only pays for those services that are effective, appropriate and economical. Health technology assessments (HTAs) guarantee a systematic review of such services. That is why CSS supports the establishment of HTAs.
Prevention CSS recognises the considerable importance of prevention in healthcare provision. Like all other benefits under basic insurance, preventive measures covered by basic insurance should meet the criteria of effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness.
Quality Quality and transparency are imperative conditions for establishing sustainable competition that makes economic sense. CSS call for medical services and benefits to be disclosed transparently and subject to quality reviews.
Reduction of premium regions CSS generally stands by the current system of premium regions. Any adjustments to the way the premium regions are classified must be based on objective and easy-to-understand criteria.
Risk compensation A functioning system of risk compensation is the fundamental requirement for competition that makes economic sense. CSS therefore advocates refining the risk compensation system.
Hospital financing The current hospital financing system came into force in 2012. The question of what role the cantons should play in hospital planning remains to be discussed, as does the call for uniform funding rules for outpatient and inpatient services.
Uniform outpatient / inpatient financing (EFAS) CSS supports the EFAS system of uniform financing for outpatient / inpatient services, which can help eliminate false incentives.
Tariff structures The vast majority of medical services are provided via a variety of tariff structures (incl. TARMED, SwissDRG, LOA, Physiotherapy). CSS champions the further development of tariff structures in a manner that is fit for purpose.
TARMED revision The revision of the tariff structure for outpatient medical services is under way. CSS champions the further development of this tariff structure in a manner that is fit for purpose.
Separation of KVG & VVG
CSS opposes the separation of basic insurance and supplementary insurance, as this would result in additional costs and an additional administration burden being borne by the premium payers.
Partial VVG revision After the total revision of the Federal Insurance Contract Act (VVG) was referred back to the Federal Council by the Swiss Parliament in 2013, consultation proceedings on the partial revision are likely to be launched in 2016. CSS is campaigning for the disputed points in the referral decision to be implemented accordingly.
Territoriality principle CSS position statement on mandatory benefits under the KVG which could be provided across borders. The issue of quality is at the heart of this proposal.
Digitalisation Position statement on technological development and the associated impact on the healthcare system.
Cost containment measures Per capita healthcare costs continue to rise at rates that by far outstrip the cost of living and wage growth. CSS therefore considers effective cost containment measures to be necessary.
Data protection Data protection has been a central concern of CSS for decades. We take the most advanced security precautions to protect the sensitive data of those insured with us.
Zero night DRG Zero night DRGs are special flat rates within the SwissDRG tariff structure that would see any treatment carried out in hospital without the patient having to stay overnight now being paid for outside of the existing TARMED structure.
Shift from inpatient to outpatient The great advances made in medical services in recent years means that CSS welcomes the discussion on a greater shift away from inpatient towards outpatient treatment.
Brokers’ commissions CSS supports self-regulation within the industry as a means of promoting high quality and cost-effective advice, which is an important objective

Do you have any questions?

Are you interested in health policy? Do you have any questions, or would you like to discuss anything with us?

Contact form

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
CSS Assurance

Politique de la santé – points de vue et dialogue

La CSS fait connaître sa position concernant les défis actuels du domaine de la santé dans ses points de vue sur la politique de la santé et sa publication «place au dialogue».

Points de vue sur la politique de la CSS Assurance

La CSS Assurance publie sa position concernant les questions et problèmes actuels relatifs au système de santé sous forme de brefs points de vue en matière de politique de la santé. Les aspects centraux de la position de la CSS Assurance sont expliqués de manière compréhensible et claire.

Surveillance de la
FINMA
C’est l’Autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) qui est responsable de la surveillance des assu-rances complémentaires selon la loi sur le contrat d’assurance (LCA). La CSS demande un exercice judicieux et rai-sonnable de cette surveillance.
Caisse unique (cantonale)
La CSS s’oppose à des caisses uniques, qu’elles soient cantonales ou nationales.
Responsabilité individuelle La responsabilité individuelle est un élément important de l’assurance-maladie obligatoire qui permet de freiner la hausse des coûts. La CSS s’engage pour des mesures qui encouragent la responsabilité individuelle.
Solidarité intergénérationnelle La solidarité entre jeunes et personnes âgées est un élément du système de santé solidaire. La CSS s’engage pour que la solidarité soit supportable pour tous et qu’elle soit appliquée de manière judicieuse sur le plan actuariel.
Soins intégrés La CSS considère que les soins intégrés constituent un instrument central de promotion de la qualité et de l’efficacité des coûts dans le système de santé suisse.
Médicaments Dans un marché des médicaments fortement réglementé, la CSS s’engage pour l’introduction de mécanismes adaptés au marché pour la fixation des prix et pour le droit de recours des assureurs contre les prix fixés par l’OFSP.
Financement des soins La CSS soutient un financement des soins durable qui répartit les coûts entre l’assurance-maladie obligatoire (AOS), les assurés et les cantons.
Prestations obligatoires (HTA) Selon la loi, l’assurance obligatoire des soins ne prend en charge que les prestations qui sont efficaces, appropriées et économiques. Les Health Technology Assessments (HTA) garantissent un contrôle systématique des prestations ; la CSS soutient donc l’établissement de HTA.
Prévention La CSS reconnaît l’importance de la prévention dans le domaine de la santé. Les prestations de prévention remboursées par l’assurance de base doivent, comme toutes les autres prestations, satisfaire aux critères d’économicité, d’efficacité et d’adéquation.
Qualité La qualité et la transparence sont deux conditions impératives d’une concurrence durable et économiquement judicieuse. La CSS demande que les prestations médicales soient justifiées de manière transparente et puissent être contrôlées sur le plan qualitatif.
Réduction des régions de primes Fondamentalement, la CSS tient au système actuel des régions de primes. D’éventuelles adaptations de la répartition des régions de primes doivent impérativement reposer sur des critères objectifs et compréhensibles.
Compensation des risques Une compensation des risques qui fonctionne est la condition première d’une concurrence judicieuse sur le plan économique, raison pour laquelle la CSS s’engage pour l’affinement de la compensation des risques.
Financement hospitalier Le financement hospitalier actuel est entré en vigueur en 2012. Reste à examiner le rôle des cantons dans le cadre de la planification hospitalière, tout comme l’exigence de règles de financement homogènes pour les prestations ambulatoires et stationnaires.
Financement uniforme des prestations ambulatoires et stationnaires (EFAS) La CSS est favorable à un financement uniforme des prestations ambulatoires et stationnaires (EFAS), qui permettrait d’éliminer les incitations négatives.
Structures tarifaires La grande majorité des prestations médicales est décomptée selon diverses structures tarifaires (notamment TARMED, SwissDRG, RPB, physiothérapie). La CSS s’engage pour le développement adéquat des structures tarifaires.
Révision TARMED La révision de la structure tarifaire pour les prestations médicales ambulatoires est en cours. La CSS œuvre pour un développement adéquat de cette structure tarifaire.
Séparation LAMal / LCA
La CSS s’oppose à la séparation de l’assurance de base et de l’assurance complémentaire car celle-ci entraînerait des frais supplémentaires et un surcroît de travail administratif, et cela au détriment des payeurs de primes.
Révision partielle de la LCA Après le renvoi au Conseil fédéral par le Parlement de la révision totale de la loi sur le contrat d’assurance (LCA), la révision partielle sera probablement envoyée en consultation en 2016. La CSS s’engage en faveur d’une application conséquente des points contestés dans la décision de renvoi.
Principe de la territorialité Position de la CSS concernant les prestations obligatoires LAMal qui pourraient être fournies hors des frontières.
Numérique Position de la CSS à propos de l’évolution technologique et de ses effets sur le système de santé.
Mesures de maîtrise des coûts Les coûts de santé par assuré augmentent constamment, avec des taux largement supérieurs au renchérissement ou à l’évolution des salaires. C’est pourquoi la CSS estime que des mesures efficaces de maîtrise des coûts sont nécessaires.
Protection des données La protection des données est un sujet essentiel pour la CSS depuis des décennies. Nous prenons des mesures de sécurité sévères pour protéger les données sensibles de nos assurés.
Zero-Night-DRG Les Zero-Night-DRG sont des forfaits spéciaux de la structure tarifaire SwissDRG devant rémunérer, hors de la structure TARMED actuelle, les prestations effectuées en milieu hospitalier sans nuitée.
Transfert du stationnaire vers l’ambulatoire Comme de grands progrès ont été réalisés en médecine ces dernières années, la CSS est favorable à ce qu’une discussion soit ouverte pour renforcer le transfert du stationnaire vers l’ambulatoire.
Commissions d’intermédiaire Afin d’améliorer la qualité et l’efficacité de l’activité de conseil en termes de coûts, un objectif important, la CSS est en faveur l’autorégulation de la branche.

Avez-vous des questions?

Vous intéressez-vous à la politique de la santé et avez-vous des questions ou aimeriez-vous dialoguer avec nous?

Formulaire de contact