0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
CSS Insurance

CSS Group

The CSS Group was founded in 1899 and is headquartered in Lucerne. Drawing on its long and proud tradition, the company insures around 1.66 million individuals. With a premium volume of 5.86 billion Swiss francs, it is one of Switzerland's leading health, accident and property insurers. The CSS Group is the market leader in basic insurance, having earned the trust of 1.33 million people. The company fosters close ties with those it insures, with 115 agencies throughout Switzerland and some 2,700 staff. CSS produces information that provides guidance and support in all aspects of health and healthcare.

Structure

The CSS Group comprises CSS Holding AG and its subsidiaries. CSS Holding AG is not listed on the stock exchange. It is subject to Swiss company law. The CSS Association is the sole shareholder of CSS Holding AG.

CSS Group

Companies offering basic insurance

Four companies within the CSS Group offer mandatory health insurance (basic insurance) under Swiss law. In addition to CSS Kranken-Versicherung AG, these are:

Companies offering supplementary insurance

CSS Versicherung AG and INTRAS Versicherung AG are responsible for providing supplementary insurance.

Company providing group accident insurance

CSS Versicherung AG also offers additional insurance solutions for:

  • group daily sickness indemnity insurance
  • group accident insurance
  • other insurance products under the Federal Insurance Contract Act (VVG), such as private liability and household contents insurance

Corporate Governance and Code of Conduct

Even although it is not a listed company, CSS adheres to corporate governance guidelines and principles. These determine the system of rules regarding organisation, actions and transparency through which the company is controlled and directed. In doing so, it is guided by the “Swiss Code of Best Practice for Corporate Governance” issued by economiesuisse, the umbrella organisation for the Swiss business sector.

Code of Conduct

History

CSS was founded in 1899 as a self-help organisation under the name Christlich Soziale Schweiz (Christian Social Switzerland, CSS), in response to Pope Leo XIII's "Rerum Novarum" encyclical, which addressed the emergence of a proletariat from the labouring classes. At the time, CSS viewed its objectives as specifically Christian. There has been little change in its actual purpose in the intervening years: our healthcare system is still based on solidarity, one expression of which is the uniform premium. Regardless of their income, all insured persons have access to healthcare services. In today's world, the values on which CSS Insurance is built, such as the principles of solidarity and fairness, are perceived as separate from basic Christian precepts.

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
Lu-Ve 8-18 heures  
 

Groupe CSS

Le Groupe CSS, qui a son siège à Lucerne, a été fondé en 1899. Cette entreprise traditionnelle assure environ 1,66 million de personnes et, avec un volume de primes de 5,86 milliards de francs, fait partie des assurances leaders dans le domaine de la maladie, de l’accident et des choses. En ce qui concerne l’assurance de base, elle est numéro 1 du marché : 1,33 million de personnes font confiance à la CSS, qui est toujours à proximité de ses assurés grâce à ses 115 agences réparties dans toute la Suisse et à ses quelque 2'700 collaborateurs. La CSS fournit des informations qui permettent de s’orienter et de prendre des décisions concernant les questions de santé.

Organigramme

Le Groupe CSS est constitué de la CSS Holding SA et de ses sociétés affiliées. La CSS Holding SA n'est pas cotée en bourse et est soumise au droit des sociétés anonymes. La CSS Association est seule actionnaire de la CSS Holding SA.

Groupe CSS

Sociétés pour l'assurance de base

Le Groupe CSS est constitué de la CSS Holding SA et de ses sociétés affiliées. La CSS Holding SA n'est pas cotée en bourse et est soumise au droit des sociétés anonymes. La CSS Association est seule actionnaire de la CSS Holding SA.

Sociétés chargées de l’assurance complémentaire

La CSS Assurance SA ainsi qu’INTRAS Assurance SA répondent du domaine de l’assurance complémentaire.

Société chargée des affaires de l’assurance collective en cas d’accident

La CSS Assurance SA propose des solutions d’assurance supplémentaires:

  • Assurances collectives d’indemnités journalières en cas de maladie
  • Assurances collectives en cas d’accident
  • Autres produits d’assurance basés sur la loi sur le contrat d’assurance (LCA), tels que les assurances responsabilité civile privée et ménage

Corporate Governance et «Code of Conduct»

Même en tant qu’entreprise non cotée en bourse, la CSS agit selon les directives et principes de la Corporate Governance. Celle-ci comprend les règles et principes d’organisation, de comportement et de transparence selon lesquels une entreprise est dirigée et contrôlée. Dans ce contexte, le Groupe CSS se conforme aux directives du «Code suisse de bonne pratique pour le gouvernement d’entreprise» d’economiesuisse, l’association faîtière de l’économie suisse.

Code of Conduct

Histoire

La CSS a été fondée en 1899 sous le nom de Chrétienne sociale suisse (CSS). Elle était alors une organisation d'entraide ainsi qu'une réponse à l'encyclique“ Rerum Novarum“ publiée par le pape Léon XIII, qui abordait la question de la prolétarisation des travailleurs. A l'époque, la CSS considérait son activité comme un engagement chrétien concret. Sur le principe, peu de choses ont changé en ce qui concerne la tâche de la CSS: notre système de santé repose sur la solidarité. La prime unique en est un exemple. Ainsi, chaque assuré a accès aux soins médicaux indépendamment de son revenu. Les valeurs de la CSS Assurance, qui sont fondées entre autres sur le principe de solidarité et de justice, sont aujourd'hui respectées indépendamment des valeurs chrétiennes de base.