0844 277 277 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm
Mon-Fri 8am-6pm  
 

Questions and answers

What consequences does moving home have?

The qualifying date for the premium credit and premium surcharge is 1 January 2017. If you move to a different canton after that date, this will not be taken into consideration.  

How will payment be made?

Any premium credit due will be received in June 2017. The credit will be offset against the June premium wherever possible, or otherwise paid out. It will go to the person paying the premium at the time.

Will there be further corrections in future?

On behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG), the insurers will carry out the corrections for the period from 1996 to 2013 in 2015, 2016 and 2017. According to the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG), no further corrections are to be expected.

What happens during military service?

Even if insurance cover is suspended during military service, you remain entitled to receive a one-off premium credit, if applicable. The premium credit will be paid in June 2017.

As a cross-border commuter working in Switzerland or Swiss person living abroad am I affected by the premium correction?

As the legal place of residence is the determining factor when it comes to calculating the premium correction, cross-border commuters who live abroad and expatriate Swiss nationals are not affected.

Will anything change for recipients of Federal disability insurance benefits, supplementary benefits or premium reductions?

The same amount will be paid out to each individual, regardless of any social security benefits. Such persons remain entitled to receive a one-off premium credit, as the case may be. The premium credit will be paid in June 2017.

Am I affected by the premium correction if I come to Switzerland from abroad?

If your statutory obligation to take out health insurance begins after 1 January 2017, you are not entitled to a premium credit.

What happens if I change insurer during the year?

The rules applicable to the canton in which you were living on 1 January 2017 will apply. Your previous insurer must notify your new insurer of your canton of residence on that date.

How did this law come about?

In February 2012, at the instigation of certain cantons, the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) drafted a revision of the legislation to provide for a premium correction (Art. 106 KVG). This move was prompted by the supposed difference between cantonal premium revenues and health expenditure in relation to basic insurance. In spring 2014, the Swiss parliament approved an amended version of the article. The Federal Office of Public Health set out arrangements for implementation in September 2014, in the form of an Ordinance.

How is it possible that premiums were calculated incorrectly?

The health insurance companies submit the premiums they propose to charge for the following calendar year, by canton, to the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) at the end of each July. These are based on the expected costs per canton. The BAG is mandated by the Federal Council to check whether the proposed premiums are appropriate in relation to the costs the insurers are required to bear in the respective canton. Given the large number of unknown factors (such as how costs will develop in future), a degree of uncertainty is always involved in calculating premiums. That is why insurers establish provisions and reserves. As health insurers are not allowed to make a profit out of basic insurance, the money therefore remains in the system and is used solely to pay benefits, and for no other purpose. However, reserves are not calculated on a cantonal basis. This gave rise to the minimal differences between premiums revenues and the costs of healthcare per canton. The cantons have now asked for these differences to be redressed. Politicians have approved this request. In other words, premiums have always been calculated correctly. However, a political decision has been made to change the rules retroactively.

Are insured persons now being made to pay for something the health insurers did wrong?

No, the health insurance providers have always calculated and proposed premiums in accordance with the applicable laws. By checking and approving the premiums, the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) confirmed that this was the case. The premium correction has come about because of a political decision and does not in any way mean that the health insurers made a mistake. In actual fact, the rules have been changed retrospectively at political level.

0844 277 277 Lu-Ve 8-18 heures
Lu-Ve 8-18 heures  
 

Questions et réponses

Quelles sont les conséquences d’un déménagement?

Le jour de référence pour l’avoir de primes est le 1er janvier 2017. Tout changement de canton ayant eu lieu après cette date ne sera pas pris en compte.

Comment se fera le paiement?

Le remboursement d'un éventuel avoir de primes sera effectué en juin 2017. Ainsi dans la mesure du possible l'avoir sera compensé avec la prime de juin ou sinon crédité. Il est versé à la personne qui paie les primes actuellement.

Y aura-t-il d’autres corrections à l’avenir ?

Les assureurs vont procéder de 2015 à 2017 aux corrections des années 1996 à 2013, sur mandat de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique. Selon l'Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP).  Il ne faut pas s’attendre à de nouvelles corrections.

Que se passe-t-il pendant le service militaire ?

Malgré une suspension en cas de service militaire, le droit à un avoir de primes unique subsistent. Le remboursement de l'avoir de primes est payé en juin 2017.

En tant que frontalier ou Suisses de l’étranger travaillant en Suisse suis-je concerné par la correction des primes ?

Comme le domicile légal est déterminant pour le calcul de la correction des primes, ni les frontaliers domiciliés à l’étranger ni les Suisses de l’étranger ne sont concernés.

Quelque chose change-t-il pour les destinataires des prestations de l’assurance-invalidité, des prestations complémentaires et des réductions de primes ?

Le montant payé individuellement est le même pour toutes les prestations sociales. Le droit à un avoir de primes unique subsistent. Le remboursement de l'avoir de primes est payé en juin 2017.

Suis-je concerné par la correction des primes si je viens m’installer en Suisse depuis l‘étranger?

Si l’obligation de s’assurer débute après le 1er janvier 2017, il n’y a droit à un avoir de primes non plus.

Comment est traité un changement d’assurance en cours d’année?

C’est le canton de domicile au 1er janvier 2017 qui est valable. L’assureur précédent doit annoncer au nouvel assureur le canton de domicile au 1er janvier 2017.

Comment est née la loi?

En février 2012, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) a élaboré, sur une suggestion de certains cantons, un projet de loi pour la correction des primes (art. 106 LAMal). La toile de fond était une prétendue différence des recettes cantonales de primes et des dépenses de santé dans l’assurance de base. Au printemps 2014, le Parlement a approuvé une version modifiée. En septembre 2014, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique a réglé la mise en œuvre, dans le cadre d’une ordonnance

Comment se fait-il que les primes aient pu être mal calculées?

Les assureurs-maladie fournissent chaque année, fin juillet, à l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), leurs primes par canton pour l’année civile suivante. Les coûts prévus par canton servent de base au calcul. L’OFSP contrôle, sur mandat du Conseil fédéral, si les primes présentées sont en rapport avec les coûts que les assureurs auront à payer dans lesdits cantons. Le calcul des primes est souvent quelque peu incertain en raison de nombreux facteurs inconnus (par exemple l’évolution future des coûts). C’est la raison pour laquelle les assureurs constituent des réserves et des provisions. Comme dans l’assurance de base les assureurs-maladie n’ont pas le droit de réaliser des bénéfices, l’argent reste dans tous les cas dans le système et est uniquement utilisé pour le paiement des prestations. Mais les réserves ne sont pas calculées sur une base cantonale. Cela a donné lieu à des différences minimes entre les recettes de primes et les coûts de la santé par canton. Les cantons ont réclamé une compensation de ces différences. Le monde politique leur a donné satisfaction. Les primes ont donc toujours été calculées correctement, car les règles ont été changées après coup, sur la base d’une décision politique.

Les assurés doivent-ils payer pour les erreurs des assurances-maladie?

Non, les assureurs-maladie ont toujours calculé et publié leurs primes en fonction des lois en vigueur. L’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) a toujours contrôlé et approuvé les primes. La correction des primes est née d‘une décision politique et ne signifie en aucun cas que les assureurs-maladie ont commis une quelconque erreur mais simplement que les règles ont été modifiées a posteriori au niveau politique.