Frau am Joggen mit Smartwatch

SwissHealth Ventures: digital, innovative, personal.

SwissHealth Ventures invests in start-ups whose ideas set the course for a high quality, cost-effective healthcare system.

Our focus

Who we are

SwissHealth Ventures AG is a member of the CSS Group, Switzerland's leading health insurer. We are the ideal health partner for ambitious start-ups in the field of digital health.

With the support of Redstone, an experienced venture capital partner, our industry expertise facilitates agile, sustainable growth.

What we offer

Knowhow
In addition to our breadth and depth of expertise, we provide support for digital health business models without getting involved in the day-to-day operations.
Efficiency
Thanks to our lean, agile decision-making processes, we can help start-ups achieve their next milestones quickly and without complications.
Market closeness
Our strong network within the Swiss healthcare system facilitates rapid market access.
Trust
Some 1.8 million people trust CSS. We can capitalise on this basis and substance to give start-ups a competitive edge in terms of trust.

Our investment focus

We invest in start-ups that are seeking to create synergies with the CSS Group and have new digital technologies that move healthcare forward. Targeted investments support our aim of helping people to stay healthy, become healthy or live with illness. We also focus on digital solutions that generate an immediate efficiency gain for health insurers in their core business.

How we operate

  • Volume
    SwissHealth Ventures makes its investments in accordance with the customary venture capital standards. The amount invested in each start-up should generally be in the range of CHF 0.5 to 4 million. That means our investment in any start-up is generally less than 20%.
  • Phase
    We are looking for start-ups in the growth phase. In other words, we invest in series A and series B rounds. Ideally, the company will have been established at least two to three years ago and already have notched up its first successes. These include market launches, paying customers and significant growth.
  • Region
    We are concentrating on European start-ups whose products and services are relevant to the Swiss healthcare market or aim to become so.

We are shaping the digital health of the future in the following areas:

More efficiency thanks to new technologies

Being insured

  • Digital health insurance
  • Communication and marketing
  • Patient rep. outcomes
  • Corporate infrastructure
  • Digitalisation and efficiency gains in health insurance

Lifestyle and wellness innovations

Staying healthy

  • Fitness
  • Nutrition
  • Self-tracking
  • Mental health
  • Independent living in old age

Digitally supported recovery

Becoming healthy

  • Telemedicine
  • Online appointment-booking
  • Early detection
  • Communication with service providers

Support for chronic illnesses

Living with illness

  • Chronic care
  • Patient monitoring
  • Coordination of care
  • Extended diagnosis
  • Specific therapy

Get Funded

Does your start-up fit our investment criteria? And are there potential synergies with the CSS Group? Then we look forward to hearing from you.

Portfolio

OnlineDoctor

OnlineDoctor allows skin problems to be assessed quickly and cost-effectively, no matter where you are, by an independent specialist licensed in Switzerland. Patients receive a specialist assessment, including a recommendation for action, via a web-based platform within 48 hours. SwissHealth Ventures invested in this Swiss telemedicine start-up in 2020 as lead investor in the series A round (which raised a total of around CHF 5.5 million in funding from all investors).

CSS has already made this service a fixed part of its offering, where it is known as the «online skin check». The uncomplicated skin check by Swiss dermatologists contributes to digital integrated care.

Pregnolia 

Pregnolia has developed a device that supports the diagnosis of premature birth. It enables gynaecologists to measure cervical tissue stiffness more precisely and thus make a better assessment of the risk of premature birth. SwissHealth Ventures invested in the ETH spin-off in 2020 as lead investor in the series A round (which raised a total of CHF 4.2 million in funding from all investors).

SwissHealth Ventures believes in the success of the Pregnolia measurement system and its ability to provide great reassurance to professionals and pregnant women. We also believe that this method will reduce healthcare costs in the long term.

CSS Group. Your health partner.

Investments that benefit those insured with us

CSS is an advocate of high quality, cost-efficient care in the future. As a health partner, therefore, it invests in innovative start-ups that seek to give insured persons access to the medical care of the future through new digital services. The CHF 50 million made available for this comes from the surpluses from the supplementary insurance business.

CSS Group

Frau am Joggen mit Smartwatch

SwissHealth Ventures: digital, innovativ, persönlich.

SwissHealth Ventures investiert in Startups, die sich mit ihren Ideen für ein qualitativ hochwertiges und kosteneffizientes Gesundheitssystem einsetzen.

Unser Fokus

Wer wir sind

Die SwissHealth Ventures AG ist ein Unternehmen der CSS Gruppe, dem führenden Krankenversicherer in der Schweiz. Wir sind der ideale Gesundheitspartner für ambitionierte Startups im Bereich Digital Health. 

Unsere branchenspezifischen Kompetenzen werden durch die Unterstützung des erfahrenen Venture-Capital-Partners Redstone ergänzt und ermöglichen agiles und nachhaltiges Wachstum.

Was wir bieten

Knowhow
Wir bieten facettenreiches Expertenwissen und Unterstützung für Digital Health Geschäftsmodelle, ohne dabei in das operative Handeln einzugreifen.
Effizienz
Mit schlanken und agilen Entscheidungsprozessen helfen wir Startups, ihre nächsten Meilensteine schnell und unkompliziert zu erreichen.
Marktnähe
Unsere starke Vernetzung im Schweizer Gesundheitswesen ermöglicht einen schnellen Marktzugang.
Vertrauen
Rund 1,8 Millionen Menschen vertrauen der CSS. Diese Basis und Substanz nutzen wir, um Startups einen Vertrauensvorsprung zu gewähren.

Unser Investment-Fokus

Wir investieren in Startups, die das Gesundheitswesen mit neuen digitalen Technologien voranbringen und Synergien mit der CSS Gruppe anstreben. Mit gezielten Investments wollen wir Menschen beim Gesundbleiben, Gesundwerden oder beim Leben mit einer Krankheit unterstützen. Zudem fokussieren wir uns auf digitale Lösungen, die einen unmittelbaren Effizienzgewinn für das Kerngeschäft von Krankenversicherern erzielen.

Rahmenbedingungen

  • Volumen
    SwissHealth Ventures investiert nach marktüblichen Venture Capital Standards. Pro Startup sind Investitionsbeträge zwischen 0,5 und 4 Millionen Franken vorgesehen. Unsere Beteiligung am Startup liegt daher meist unter 20%.
  • Phase
    Wir suchen Startups in der Wachstumsphase. Das heisst, wir investieren in Series-A und Series-B Runden. Idealerweise liegt die Gründung der Unternehmung mindestens zwei bis drei Jahre zurück und es wurden bereits erste Erfolge erzielt. Dazu gehören Markteinführungen, zahlende Kunden und signifikantes Wachstum.
  • Region
    Wir konzentrieren uns auf europäische Startups, dessen Produkte und Leistungen für den Schweizer Gesundheitsmarkt relevant sind oder es werden möchten. 

Wir gestalten die digitale Gesundheit von morgen in folgenden Gebieten:

Effizienter dank neuen Technologien

Versichert sein

  • Digitale Krankenversicherung
  • Kommunikation und Marketing
  • Patient Rep. Outcomes
  • Unternehmensinfrastruktur
  • Digitalisierung und Effizienzgewinne bei der Krankenversicherung

Lifestyle- und Wellness-Innovationen

Gesund bleiben

  • Fitness
  • Ernährung
  • Self-Tracking
  • Mentale Gesundheit
  • Unabhängiges Leben im Alter

Digital unterstützte Genesung

Gesund werden

  • Telemedizin
  • Online-Terminbuchungen
  • Frühzeiterkennung
  • Kommunikation mit Leistungserbringern

Unterstützung bei chronischen Erkrankungen

Mit Krankheit leben

  • Chronicle Care
  • Patientenüberwachung
  • Pflegekoordination
  • Erweiterte Diagnose
  • Spezifische Therapie

Get Funded

Passt Ihr Startup zu unseren Investitionskriterien und bestehen mögliche Synergien mit der CSS Gruppe? Dann freuen wir uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

Portfolio

OnlineDoctor

Mit OnlineDoctor können Hautprobleme schnell, ortsunabhängig und kostengünstig von in der Schweiz zugelassenen Hautärzten beurteilt werden. Über eine webbasierte Plattform erhalten Patientinnen und Patienten innerhalb von 48 Stunden eine fachärztliche Ersteinschätzung inklusive Handlungsempfehlung. SwissHealth Ventures beteiligte sich 2020 im Rahmen der A-Runde (Investitionsumfang aller Investoren rund 5.5 Millionen Franken) als Leadinvestor am Schweizer Telemedizin-Startup.

Die CSS hat den Service als «Online Haut-Check» bereits erfolgreich in ihrem Angebot verankert. Der unkomplizierte Haut-Check durch Schweizer Dermatologen leistet einen Beitrag an eine digital integrierte Versorgung.

Pregnolia 

Pregnolia hat ein Gerät zur Unterstützung der Frühgeburtsdiagnostik entwickelt. Dieses ermöglicht Gynäkologinnen und Gynäkologen, die Beschaffenheit des Gebärmutterhalses genau zu messen und so das Risiko einer Frühgeburt besser einzuschätzen. SwissHealth Ventures beteiligte sich 2020 im Rahmen der A-Runde (Investitionsumfang aller Investoren 4.2 Millionen Franken) am ETH Spin-Off.

Die SwissHealth Ventures glaubt an den Erfolg des Messverfahrens von Pregnolia und sieht darin eine grosse Entlastung für Fachpersonen und Schwangere. Zudem sind wir der Meinung, dass diese Methode die Gesundheitskosten langfristig senken wird.

CSS Gruppe. Ihr Gesundheitspartner.

Investitionen zugunsten von Versicherten

Die CSS engagiert sich für eine qualitativ hochstehende und kosteneffiziente Versorgung der Zukunft. Als Gesundheitspartner investiert sie deshalb in innovative Startups. Diese sollen den Versicherten die medizinische Versorgung von morgen durch neue digitale Angebote zugänglich machen. Die dafür zur Verfügung gestellten Mittel in Höhe von 50 Millionen Franken stammen aus Überschüssen aus dem Zusatzversicherungsgeschäft.

CSS Gruppe