Frau am Joggen mit Smartwatch

SwissHealth Ventures: digital, innovative, personal.

SwissHealth Ventures invests in start-ups whose ideas set the course for a high quality, cost-effective healthcare system.

Our focus

Who we are

SwissHealth Ventures AG is a member of the CSS Group, Switzerland's leading health insurer. We are the ideal healthcare partner for ambitious start-ups in the field of digital health.

Our industry-specific expertise is complemented by the support of experienced venture capital partner Redstone, enabling agile and sustainable growth.

What we offer

Know-how
We offer multi-faceted expert knowledge and support for digital health business models without interfering with operational activities.
Efficiency
With lean and agile decision-making processes, we help start-ups reach their next milestones quickly and easily.
Market closeness
Our strong network within the Swiss healthcare system facilitates rapid market access.
Trust
Some 1.8 million people trust CSS. We can capitalise on this basis and substance to give start-ups a competitive edge in terms of trust.

Our investment focus

We invest in start-ups that advance healthcare with new digital technologies and strive for synergies with the CSS Group. With targeted investments, we want to support people in staying healthy, getting healthy, or living with an illness. In addition, we focus on digital solutions that directly increase efficiency for the core business of health insurers.

How we operate

  • Volume
    SwissHealth Ventures makes its investments in accordance with the customary venture capital standards. The amount invested in each start-up should generally be in the range of 0.5 to 4 million Swiss francs. That means our investment in any start-up is usually less than 20%.
  • Phase
    We are looking for start-ups in the growth phase. In other words, we invest in series A and series B rounds. Ideally, the company was founded at least two to three years ago and has already achieved initial success. These include market launches, paying customers and significant growth.
  • Region
    We focus on European start-ups whose products and services are relevant to the Swiss healthcare market or aim to become so.

We are shaping the digital health of tomorrow in the following areas:

More efficient thanks to new technologies

Being insured

  • Digital health insurance
  • Communication and marketing
  • Patient rep. outcomes
  • Corporate infrastructure
  • Digitalisation and efficiency gains in health insurance

Lifestyle and wellness innovations

Staying healthy

  • Fitness
  • Nutrition
  • Self-tracking
  • Mental health
  • Independent living in old age

Digitally assisted recovery

Getting healthy

  • Telemedicine
  • Online appointment-booking
  • Early detection
  • Communication with care providers

Support for chronic illnesses

Living with illness

  • Chronicle care
  • Patient monitoring
  • Care coordination
  • Advanced diagnosis
  • Specific therapy

Get Funded

Does your start-up fit our investment criteria and are there potential synergies with the CSS Group? Then we look forward to hearing from you.

Portfolio

OnlineDoctor

With OnlineDoctor, skin problems can be assessed quickly, regardless of location and at low cost by dermatologists licensed in Switzerland. Via a web-based platform, patients receive an initial specialist assessment including a recommendation for action within 48 hours. SwissHealth Ventures participated in 2020 as lead investor in this Swiss telemedicine start-up as part of the A-round (investment volume of all investors total around 5.5 million Swiss francs).

CSS has already made this service a fixed part of its offering, where it is known as the «online skin check». The uncomplicated skin check by Swiss dermatologists contributes to digital integrated care.

Pregnolia 

Pregnolia has developed a device that supports the diagnosis of premature birth. It enables gynaecologists to measure cervical stiffness more precisely and thus make a better assessment of the risk of premature birth. SwissHealth Ventures invested in this ETH spin-off in 2020 in the series A round (which raised a total of 4.2 million Swiss francs in funding from all investors).

SwissHealth Ventures believes in the success of the Pregnolia measurement system and its ability to provide great reassurance to professionals and pregnant women. In addition, we believe that this method will reduce healthcare costs in the long term.

CSS Group. Your health partner.

Investments for the benefit of insured persons

CSS is committed to high quality, cost-efficient healthcare for the future. As a healthcare partner, it therefore invests in innovative start-ups. These are intended to make tomorrow's medical care accessible to insured persons through new digital offerings. The funds made available for this purpose, amounting to 50 million Swiss francs, come from surpluses from the supplementary insurance business.

CSS Group

Frau am Joggen mit Smartwatch

SwissHealth Ventures: numérique, innovante, personnelle.

SwissHealth Ventures investit dans des start-up qui, avec leurs idées, s’engagent en faveur d’un système de santé de haute qualité et efficace en termes de coûts.

Notre priorité

Qui nous sommes

SwissHealth Ventures AG est une entreprise du Groupe CSS, l’assureur-maladie leader de Suisse. Nous sommes le partenaire santé idéal pour les start-up ambitieuses dans le domaine de la santé numérique.

Nos compétences spécifiques à la branche sont complétées par le soutien de Redstone, partenaire expérimenté en capital-risque, et permettent une croissance durable et agile.

Ce que nous proposons

Savoir-faire
Nous offrons un savoir-faire varié et un soutien pour les modèles d’affaires dans le domaine de la santé numérique, mais sans intervenir sur le plan opérationnel.
Efficacité
Au moyen de processus de décision allégés et agiles, nous aidons les start-up à franchir les prochaines étapes rapidement et simplement.
Proximité du marché
Notre réseautage fort dans le système de santé suisse permet d’accéder rapidement au marché.
Confiance
Environ 1,8 million de personnes font confiance à la CSS. C’est sur cette base que nous garantissons aux start-up une longueur d’avance en matière de confiance.

Notre priorité en matière d’investissement

Nous investissons dans des start-up qui font évoluer le système de santé au moyen de technologies numériques et qui partagent des synergies avec le Groupe CSS. Par le biais d’investissements ciblés, nous voulons aider les gens à rester en bonne santé, à guérir ou à vivre avec une maladie. Par ailleurs, nous priorisons des solutions numériques permettant un gain d’efficacité immédiat pour l’activité principale des assureurs-maladie.

Conditions-cadres

  • Volume
    SwissHealth Ventures investit selon les normes usuelles du marché du capital-risque. Des investissements d’un montant situé entre 0,5 et 4 millions de francs sont prévus par start-up. Notre contribution à la start-up est donc la plupart du temps inférieure à 20%.
  • Phase
    Nous cherchons des start-up en phase de croissance. Cela signifie que nous investissons lors des tours en séries A et en séries B (levée de fonds). Dans l’idéal, l’entreprise a été fondée il y a au moins deux ou trois ans, et des premiers succès ont déjà été atteints: lancements sur le marché, clients payeurs et croissance significative en font partie.
  • Région
    Nous nous concentrons sur des start-up européenne dont les produits et services sont pertinents pour le marché de la santé suisse ou qui souhaitent le devenir.

Nous façonnons la santé numérique de demain dans les domaines suivants:

Une plus grande efficacité grâce aux nouvelles technologies

S’assurer

  • Assurance-maladie numérique
  • Communication et marketing
  • Résultats rapportés par le patient
  • Infrastructure de l’entreprise
  • Numérisation et gains d’efficacité dans l’assurance-maladie

Innovations relatives au mode de vie et au bien-être

Rester en bonne santé

  • Forme physique
  • Alimentation
  • Self-tracking
  • Santé mentale
  • Rester autonome durant la vieillesse

Guérison soutenue par le numérique

Guérir

  • Télémédecine
  • Prises de rendez-vous en ligne
  • Dépistage précoce
  • Communication avec les fournisseurs de prestations

Assistance en cas de maladies chroniques

Vivre avec une maladie

  • Chronic Care
  • Surveillance des patients
  • Coordination des soins
  • Diagnostic approfondi
  • Traitement spécifique

Get Funded

Votre start-up correspond-elle à nos critères d’investissement, et existe-t-il des synergies possibles avec le Groupe CSS? Si tel est le cas, n’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous.

Portefeuille

OnlineDoctor

Avec OnlineDoctor, les problèmes de peau peuvent être évalués rapidement, depuis n’importe où et à un coût raisonnable par des dermatologues agréés en Suisse. Via une plateforme Internet, les patients reçoivent une première évaluation médicale spécialisée et des recommandations d’action dans un délai de 48 heures. En 2020, SwissHealth Ventures a investi dans la start-up suisse de télémédecine lors du tour A (volume d’investissement par tous les investisseurs d’environ 5,5 millions de francs) en tant qu’investisseur principal.

La CSS a déjà intégré avec succès le service dans son offre sous le nom d’«examen cutané en ligne». L’examen cutané simple effectué par des dermatologues suisses contribue à des soins intégrés numériques.

Pregnolia 

Pregnolia a développé un appareil visant à assister les diagnostics d’accouchement prématuré. Celui-ci permet aux gynécologues de mesurer avec précision la dilatation du col de l’utérus et ainsi de mieux estimer le risque d’accouchement prématuré. En 2020, SwissHealth Ventures a investi dans le spin-off de l’EPF lors du tour A (volume d’investissement par tous les investisseurs de 4,2 millions de francs).

SwissHealth Ventures croit au succès de la méthode de mesure de Pregnolia et y voit une grande opportunité de soulagement des spécialistes et des femmes enceintes. Par ailleurs, nous sommes d’avis que cette méthode fera baisser les coûts de la santé sur le long terme.

Groupe CSS. Votre partenaire santé.

Des investissements au profit des assurés

La CSS s’engage en faveur de soins futurs de haute qualité et efficaces en termes de coûts. C’est pourquoi, en tant que partenaire santé, elle investit dans des start-up innovantes. Ces dernières doivent permettre aux assurés d’accéder aux soins médicaux de demain au moyen de nouvelles offres numériques. Les ressources investies à cet effet, d’un montant de 50 millions de francs, sont constituées d’excédents provenant des affaires des assurances complémentaires.

Groupe CSS