Delegates of the CSS Association

The CSS Association’s 40-strong Assembly of Delegates represents the shareholders of CSS Holding. Its responsibilities include nominating members of the Board of Directors.

What is the Assembly of Delegates?

The Assembly of Delegates of the CSS Association is the supreme governing body of CSS. As an association, CSS is a non-listed holding company under Swiss company law. The CSS Association is the sole shareholder of CSS Holding AG, and the delegates represent the Association’s members. The Assembly consists of 40 delegates. Each canton is entitled to at least one seat. The remaining seats are distributed among the cantons and half-cantons in accordance with how many Association members they have.

What tasks does the As­sembly of Delegates have?

The delegates elect the Board of Directors and its Chair for a term of four years at a time. They also exercise the CSS Association’s voting right at the Annual General Meeting of CSS Holding and pass resolutions. In addition, the Assembly of Delegates lays down the principles underpinning the company philosophy and is responsible for the articles of association and the rules of procedure. It also approves the annual report and the annual accounts, decides on the discharge of the Board of Directors and determines delegate compensation.

How are delegates elected?

Delegates are elected by ballot or by tacit election. Potential candidates must be members of the CSS Association. The Election Committee reviews the nominations and publishes the names of the approved candidates in the CSS client magazine. If no further candidacies are announced by the given deadline, the candidates presented in the client magazine are deemed to have been elected by tacit consent.

No more than four full terms of office

Delegates can be elected for a maximum of four full terms of office. A term of office lasts four years. If a delegate ceases to live in the canton they represent, they automatically lose their seat in the Assembly.

The delegates

  • Sonja Eisenring-Ackle (Ct. AG)
  • Beat Erzer (Ct. AG)
  • Andrea Zehnder-Zehnder (Ct. AG)
  • Mauricia Manser-Koller (Ct. AI)
  • Oliver Brosch (Ct. AR)
  • Peter Portmann (Ct. BE)
  • Fredy Eggenschwiler (Ct. BL)
  • Renate Burri (Ct. BS)
  • Claude Baechler (Ct. FR)
  • Rita Binz-Wohlhauser (Ct. FR)
  • Elisabeth Simonet (Ct. FR)
  • Scheherazade Fischberg (Ct. GE)
  • Brigitte Kubli Schriber (Ct. GL)
  • Vincent Augustin (Ct. GR)
  • Hélène Kassis (Ct. JU)
  • Hans Bucher (Ct. LU)
  • Michèle Bucher (Ct. LU)
  • Hedy Eggerschwiler-Bättig (Ct. LU)
  • Yvon Jeanbourquin (Ct. NE)
  • Lisbeth Näpflin-Niederberger (Ct. NW)
  • Jolanda Vogler (Ct. OW)
  • Fridolin Gemperli (Ct. SG)
  • Jürg Kalberer (Ct. SG)
  • Silvana Hasler (Ct. SG)
  • Marcel Montanari (Ct. SH)
  • Hubert Bläsi (Ct. SO)
  • Thomas Marbet (Ct. SO)
  • Marcel May (Ct. SZ)
  • Othmar Suter (Ct. SZ)
  • Jakob Zähner (Ct. TG)
  • Michele Andina (Ct. TI)
  • Iwan Imholz (Ct. UR)
  • Antoine Cottier (Ct. VD)
  • Doris Monnier (Ct. VS)
  • Ursula Bregy-Kreuzer (Ct. VS)
  • Irene Iten-Muff (Ct. ZG)
  • Primus Kaiser (Ct. ZH)
  • Thomas Lauber (Ct. ZH)
  • Dominik Zehnder (Ct. ZH)

Vacancies in the As­sembly of Delegates

Elections of delegates to the CSS Association will be held again in autumn 2023. Most of the current delegates are standing for re-election.

New delegates must be elected in the following 9 cantons:

  • Aargau
  • Bern
  • Fribourg
  • Glarus
  • Graubünden
  • Lucerne
  • St. Gallen
  • Valais
  • Zurich

The names of the new candidates will be published in a special supplement to the 3/2023 client magazine at the beginning of September 2023.

Submit nominations

Nominations for further candidates must be submitted in writing by email to the Secretariat of the Board of Directors within 60 days of its publication. See the document entitled 'Liste Anzahl Unterschriften für Kandidatur Delegierte’ (in German).